• 2023 Season Passes - MotorSport Vision
  • Jobs at MotorSport Vision
  • MSV Trackdays
GB4 race 2: Waberski wins but Taylor claims inaugural title

Sunday, October 16 2022

Kevin Mills Racing's Jarrod Waberski took his third win of the season in race two at Donington Park, as Fortec's Nikolas Taylor claimed the inaugural GB4 title.

Waberski led after a crazy opening lap that saw several drivers lead, but it was the South African who kept his cool after a 15-minute contest that saw drama from start to finish.

Waberski led from Mills initially, but the second KMR driver was wiped out after a dramatic lap that firstly saw him delayed by a lunging Oliver Clarke, and then eliminated entirely by Clarke's Hillspeed teammate Megan Gilkes moments later on lap eight.

That promoted Elite debutant William Macintyre to second while Clarke took third despite his drama.

However Nikolas Taylor's fourth place was enough to earn him the title, despite filling almost every position in the top-eight during the contest. He simply needed to finish inside the top-eight to wrap up the title. The race finished under safety car conditions after the Gilkes/Mills incident.

Away from the podium and title fight, Jack Sherwood was fifth for Elite despite sliding off the road at the end of the first lap, while Taylor's sole championship challenger Max Marzorati climbed from 14th on the grid to sixth, but needed to win to have any chance of taking the title fight to the last race.

Chloe Grant and Jessica Edgar were seventh and eighth for Graham Brunton Racing and Fortec respectively, with Edgar's teammate Carl Bennett and Rossoverde's Christian Lester completing the top-10.

Taylor's provisional title means he will claim the £50,000 prize and end of year trophy after the final contest at Donington Park, which starts at 16.56.

GB4 Championship, partnered by the BRDC, Donington Park race two provisional result:
1.    Jarrod Waberski, Kevin Mills Racing, 11 Laps
2.    William Macintyre, Elite Motorsport, +0.387
3.    Oliver Clarke, Hillspeed, +0.981
4.    Nikolas Taylor, Fortec Motorsport, +1.824
5.    Jack Sherwood, Elite Motorsport, +2.926
6.    Max Marzorati, Hillspeed, +3.348
7.    Chloe Grant, Graham Brunton Racing, +4.114
8.    Jessica Edgar, Fortec Motorsport, +5.027
9.    Carl Bennett, Fortec Motorsport, +6.038
10.    Christian Lester, Rosso Verde Racing, + 2 Laps
DNF Megan Gilkes, Hillspeed
DNF Tom Mills, Kevin Mills Racing
DNF Logan Hannah, Graham Brunton Racing
DNF Aqil Alibhai, Scorpio