• British Superbikes - Donington Park
  • Masters - Brands Hatch
  • Family Funday - Oulton Park
  • SpeedFest 7 - Brands Hatch
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive with MSV
  • MSV Trackdays
Smith, Garrett and Jenkins finish the day with BTRA success

Monday, April 22 2019

Heavy-weight titans took to the Brands Hatch Indy circuit today for another thrilling day of British Truck Racing, with three wheel-clashing, door-barging races wowing the crowds in the afternoon session.

It was Ryan Smith who landed himself the top step of the podium after a glittering performance in the second Division 1 race of the day with a lights-to-flag win.

David Jenkins fought valiantly in second place for the entirety of the race, however the MAN TGA proved to be uncatchable with Smith taking a win of just over two seconds, followed by Jenkins with 10-time champion Stuart Oliver in third.

John Newell was all over the back of Ray Coleman's rear bumper in the opening laps of the race, however Coleman's solid defensive driving proved impassable, with Clemens Hecker taking sixth. 

Luke Garrett struck again with his second win of the weekend, securing victory in the final Division 2 race of the event.

A red flag early on forced a race restart in which Garrett produced a stunning series of overtakes, making his way from fourth to first in the opening lap of the race. Paul Rivett followed suit and made his way into second, however a dominant Garrett proved too much, with Rivett settling for second.

Behind them Brad Smith battled to secure the final step of the podium with local driver Steve Powell finishing in fourth just 1.194 seconds behind. John Bowler was next to cross the line and completed the top five with John Powell finishing the race in sixth.

The final truck race of the day saw David Jenkins claim victory as the BTRA Division 1 driver blasted his MAN TGX across the line 10.663 seconds clear of second-placed John Newell. Jenkins gunned his way round the outside of multiple competitors in the opening lap of the race and made his way into first place by the time he reached Druids.

The race was packed to the brim with wheel-clashing action, with Ryan Smith being forced into a spin putting him out of contention for a top-three finish.

Newell charged his way to finish second with Ray Coleman a close third. Mark Taylor brought his MAN TGA home in fourth with Smith and Cess Zandbergen finishing fifth and sixth respectively.

Division 1 - Race 2

1, Smith, MAN TGA 12000
2, Jenkins, MAN TGX 12000, +2.417s
3, Oliver, Volvo VNL 13000, +13.004s
4, Coleman, MAN TG 12000, +30.563s
5, Newell, MAN TGS 12000, +51.555s
6, Hecker, MAN TGS 13000, +58.589s

Division 2 - Race 2

1, Garrett, MAN TGX 13000
2, Rivett, MAN TGA 12000, +9.506s
3, Smith, DAF CF11000, +14.457s
4, S Powell, MAN TGX 12000, +15.561s
5, Bowler, DAF CF 12000, +24.035s
6, J Powell, DAF LF 11000, +24.954s

Divsion 1 - Race 3

1, Jenkins, MAN TGX 12000
2, Newell, MAN TGS 12000, +10.663s
3, Coleman, MAN TG 12000, +11.927s
4, Taylor, MAN TGA 12000, +23.546s
5, Smith, MAN TGA 12000, +24.209s
6, Zandbergen, Scania T124 12700, +41.907s