• 2023 Season Passes - MotorSport Vision
  • Jobs at MotorSport Vision
  • MSV Trackdays
Bennetts BSB Race 3: Glenn Irwin completes Brands Hatch double

Sunday, October 16 2022

Glenn Irwin claimed the final Bennetts British Superbike Championship race win of the season for the Honda Racing UK team, holding off fierce rival and brother Andrew Irwin and Danny Buchan to sign of his 2022 campaign in style at Brands Hatch.

Glenn Irwin took the lead at the start but Danny Buchan made a move at Stirlings on the opening lap and then he was holding the advantage as the pack shuffled behind him with Peter Hickman, Glenn and Andrew in the front pack.

Buchan was withstanding the pressure but as the race reached the closing stages, the SYNETIQ BMQ rider made a mistake on the exit of Surtees, which created the opportunity the Irwin brothers needed to move ahead.

Glenn Irwin hit the front and then pulled the pin over the final three laps to take the chequered flag first for the final time this season and secure the runner-up spot in the standings. Andrew Irwin was back on the podium as he held the advantage over his teammate Buchan who completed the top three.

Tommy Bridewell was fourth on the Oxford Products Racing Ducati as he managed to get ahead of Hickman on the final lap, but the fifth place was enough to secure the Bennetts BSB Riders Cup trophy.

Champion Bradley Ray ended his season in sixth for the Rich Energy OMG Racing Yamaha team just ahead of the leading MCE Ducati of Josh Brookes with Buildbase Suzuki pairing Danny Kent and Christian Iddon running in eighth and ninth. Kyle Ryde completed the top ten on the second of the Rich Energy OMG Racing Yamahas.

Bennetts British Superbike Championship, Brands Hatch, Race 3 result:

  1. Glenn Irwin (Honda Racing UK)
  2. Andrew Irwin (SYNETIQ BMW) +0.672s
  3. Danny Buchan (SYNETIQ BMW) +1.956s
  4. Tommy Bridewell (Oxford Products Racing Ducati) +5.474s
  5. Peter Hickman (FHO Racing BMW) +5.679s
  6. Bradley Ray (Rich Energy OMG Racing Yamaha) +11.000s
  7. Josh Brookes (MCE Ducati) 11.334s
  8. Danny Kent (Buildbase Suzuki) +11.485s
  9. Christian Iddon (Buildbase Suzuki) +17.652s
  10. Kyle Ryde (Rich Energy OMG Racing Yamaha) +17.744s

Bennetts British Superbike Championship standings:

  1. Bradley Ray (Rich Energy OMG Racing Yamaha) 1192
  2. Glenn Irwin (Honda Racing UK) 1171
  3. Tommy Bridewell (Oxford Products Racing Ducati) 1141
  4. Lee Jackson (Cheshire Mouldings FS-3 Kawasaki) 1095
  5. Jason O'Halloran (McAMS Yamaha) 1087
  6. Kyle Ryde (Rich Energy OMG Racing Yamaha) 1077
  7. Tarran Mackenzie (McAMS Yamaha) 1031
  8. Rory Skinner (Cheshire Mouldings FS-3 Kawasaki) 1017