• 2023 Season Passes - MotorSport Vision
  • Jobs at MotorSport Vision
  • MSV Trackdays
Bennetts BSB Race 1: Ray takes the crown at Brands Hatch

Saturday, October 15 2022

Bradley Ray sealed his first Bennetts British Superbike title with a fifth place in the eBay Sprint Race at Brands Hatch, celebrating the championship victory for the Rich Energy OMG Racing Yamaha team at his home round.

Glenn Irwin claimed a commanding race victory in the opening race action of the weekend, pushing hard from the start to bridge a gap over the chasing pack as he bids to end his campaign on a high for the Honda Racing UK team.

Glenn Irwin had a 1.374s advantage at the final, but behind there was a battle between Peter Hickman and Andrew Irwin as the pair diced for second place.

Hickman had the edge at the finish as he moves ahead in the Bennetts BSB Riders Cup battle with a second place as Andrew Irwin claimed his third podium finish of the season for SYNETIQ BMW.

Ray had only had to finish in the top seven to claim the title and he was forced to relinquish fourth place to Tommy Bridewell when the Oxford Products Racing Ducati made his move with three laps remaining.

Ray's eventual fifth place was enough to claim the title, just ahead of Jason O'Halloran and Danny Buchan.

Danny Kent scored his best result of the season in eighth place ahead of Kyle Ryde and Tom Sykes who competed the top ten.

Bennetts British Superbike Championship, Brands Hatch, eBay Sprint Race result:

  1. Glenn Irwin (Honda Racing UK)
  2. Peter Hickman (FHO Racing BMW) +1.374s
  3. Andrew Irwin (SYNETIQ BMW) +1.808s
  4. Tommy Bridewell (Oxford Products Racing Ducati) +5.105s
  5. Bradley Ray (Rich Energy OMG Racing Yamaha) +5.524s
  6. Jason O'Halloran (McAMS Yamaha) +7.743s
  7. Danny Buchan (SYNETIQ BMW) +9.895s
  8. Danny Kent (Buildbase Suzuki) +13.358s
  9. Kyle Ryde (Rich Energy OMG Racing Yamaha) +13.547s
  10. Tom Sykes (MCE Ducati) +14.465s

For the full result please click  here

Bennetts British Superbike Championship standings:

  1. Bradley Ray (Rich Energy OMG Racing Yamaha) 1182
  2. Glenn Irwin (Honda Racing UK) 1130
  3. Tommy Bridewell (Oxford Products Racing Ducati) 1117
  4. Lee Jackson (Cheshire Mouldings FS-3 Kawasaki) 1095
  5. Jason O'Halloran (McAMS Yamaha) 1087
  6. Kyle Ryde (Rich Energy OMG Racing Yamaha) 1058
  7. Tarran Mackenzie (McAMS Yamaha) 1031
  8. Rory Skinner (Cheshire Mouldings FS-3 Kawasaki) 1017

For the full standings please click  here