• 2023 Season Passes - MotorSport Vision
  • Jobs at MotorSport Vision
  • MSV Trackdays
Granfors grabs double GB3 pole in Silverstone qualifying

Saturday, May 07 2022

Fortec's Joel Granfors soared to a double pole position in GB3 Championship qualifying at Silverstone.

His best time was over three tenths of a second clear of Elite's Tom Lebbon, while his second best time was a similar margin faster than Lebbon once more.

Granfors' pole lap came just six minutes into the session on his third tour of the full Grand Prix circuit. 

That time initially put him a full second clear of the field, and while his rivals were able to chip away at his advantage, the closest anyone could get was Lebbon, with the British driver 0.325s behind.

It was much closer behind Granfors, with Lebbon a tenth clear of Hitech GP's Championship leader Luke Browning in third.

Browning was less than a tenth faster than Carlin's Roberto Faria, who set exactly the same time as Elite's James Hedley, but will start ahead of him on the grid due to setting the time first. 

Walter Hayes Trophy winner Max Esterson was sixth for Douglas Motorsport and 0.024s ahead of JHR's Matthew Rees in seventh. 

Elite's John Bennett was eighth fastest, 0.053s ahead of Chris Dittmann Racing's McKenzy Cresswell with Carlin's Callum Voisin completing the race one grid top-10 covered by less than a second.

Granfors' race two pole position came after a late flying lap that again put him three tenths clear of Lebbon.

Browning will again start third with Esterson fourth this time. Just five thousandths of a second covered Esterson, Faria and Hedley on second fastest times.

Voisin, Cresswell, Bennett and Carlin's Javier Sagrera complete the race two grid top-10.

The first race of the weekend is due to start at 14.52, with live streaming set to commence at 14.25.

GB3 Championship, partnered by the BRDC, Silverstone qualifying result (race one grid):
1. Joel Granfors, Fortec Motorsport, 1m53.086s
2. Tom Lebbon, Elite Motorsport, +0.325s
3. Luke Browning, Hitech GP, +0.437s
4. Roberto Faria, Carlin, +0.528s
5. James Hedley, Elite Motorsport, +0.528s
6. Max Esterson, Douglas Motorsport, +0.587s
7. Matthew Rees, JHR Developments, +0.611s
8. John Bennett, Elite Motorsport, +0.788s
9. McKenzy Cresswell, Chris Dittmann Racing, +0.841s
10. Callum Voisin, Carlin, +0.852s

Full result to follow