• 2023 Season Passes - MotorSport Vision
  • Jobs at MotorSport Vision
  • MSV Trackdays
Granfors ends Friday GB3 testing fastest at Silverstone

Friday, May 06 2022

Fortec's Joel Granfors topped the times in the final session of the day at Silverstone, but it wasn't quote enough to usurp James Hedley's overall testing best set earlier today.

The Swedish driver was nearly four tenths quicker than anyone else in the final session, but just over two tenths slower than Hedley's session one benchmark.

Granfors was 0.392s clear of JHR Developments' Matthew Rees, who in turn was 0.049s faster in the session than Elite's Hedley.

Hedley's teammate Tom Lebbon was just 0.022s further back and just under a tenth quicker than Hitech's championship leader Luke Browning in fifth.

Carlin duo Javier Sagrera and Callum Voisin were next up and separated by a couple of tenths with Douglas Motorsport's Max Esterson and CDR's McKenzy Cresswell eighth and ninth.

Elite's John Bennett completed the top-10, which was covered by just over a second.

On the combined times for the day, Hedley's effort of 1m52.304s from session one put him two tenths clear of Granfors' session two lap, with Lebbon and Rees third and fourth.

Browning and Sagrera were fifth and sixth overall today, ahead of Cresswell, Esterson, Voisin and Arden's Alex Connor. Click here to view the full combined timesheet.

The GB3 field are back in action tomorrow for qualifying, starting at 10.40.

GB3 Championship, partnered by the BRDC, Silverstone Friday session two result:
1. Joel Granfors, Fortec Motorsport, 1m52.516s
2. Matthew Rees, JHR Developments, +0.392s
3. James Hedley, Elite Motorsport, +0.441s
4. Tom Lebbon, Elite Motorsport, +0.463s
5. Luke Browning, Hitech GP, +0.554s
6. Javier Sagrera, Carlin, +0.653s
7. Callum Voisin, Carlin, +0.840s
8. Max Esterson, Douglas Motorsport, +0.887s
9. McKenzy Cresswell, Chris Dittmann Racing, +0.902s
10. John Bennett, Elite Motorsport, +1.088s
11. Alex Connor, Arden Motorsport, +1.300s
12. Branden Oxley, Chris Dittmann Racing, +1.498s
13. Mikkel Grundtvig, Fortec Motorsport, +1.694s
14. Zak Taylor, Fortec Motorsport, +1.704s
15. Bryce Aron, Hitech GP, +1.816s
16. Cian Shields, Hitech GP, +1.820s
17. Tommy Smith, Douglas Motorsport, +2.022s
18. Nick Gilkes, Hillspeed, +2.119s

Click here for combined times.

For more championship information, visit www.gb-3.net