• 2023 Season Passes - MotorSport Vision
  • Jobs at MotorSport Vision
  • MSV Trackdays
Gilkes fights back to dominate GB4 race two at Donington

Sunday, May 29 2022

Hillspeed's Megan Gilkes claimed her second GB4 victory of the year after fighting back in the second race of the weekend at Donington Park.

She was passed on the first lap by Fortec's Nikolas Taylor at Redgate cotner, but a lurid slide on the fourth lap from the championship leader at the Fogarty Esses allowed Gilkes to retake the lead.

From there, she set a string of fastest laps to pull out a five-second lead over Taylor, who finished second and strengthened his championship lead further after rival Alex Walker stalled on the grid from second place.

Jack Sherwood claimed his second podium of the season with third place for Elite Motorsport ahead of Hillspeed's Max Marzorati in fourth.

Jarrod Waberski claimed fifth for Kevin Mills Racing ahead of teammate Tom Mills, who threatened for the podium early on before slipping back to sixth.

Valour Racing's Danny Harrison claimed seventh ahead of teammate and fellow newcome Daryl DeLeon, with Walker recovering to ninth ahead of Graham Brunton Racing's Logan Hannah.

It looked like the win may be lost at the start for Gilkes, as Taylor went round the outside at Redgate after avoiding Walker's stalled car.

However the championship leader wasn't able to break away, with the gap growing only to half a second before Taylor controlled a wild slide at the Fogarty Esses on lap four. That allowed Gilkes to get a run on him down to the Melbourne Hairpin and she made it stick down the inside.

From there, the Canadian regularly lapped over half a second faster than any other driver, and claimed the flag 4.936s clear of Taylor.

Taylor though now holds an extended points lead heading into this afternoon's reverse grid contest which is due to start at 17.46, with full live coverage available on the GB4 website.

GB4 Championship, partnered by the BRDC, Donington Park race two result:
1. Megan Gilkes, Hillspeed, 12 laps
2. Nikolas Taylor, Fortec Motorsport, +4.936s
3. Jack Sherwood, Elite Motorsport, +5.399s
4. Max Marzorati, Hillspeed, +7.833s
5. Jarrod Waberski, Kevin Mills Racing, +8.380s
6. Tom Mills, Kevin Mills Racing, +9.539s
7. Danny Harrison, Valour Racing, +12.985s
8. Daryl DeLeon, Valour Racing, +13.485s
9. Alex Walker, Elite Motorsport, +14.295s
10. Logan Hannah, Graham Brunton Racing, +18.802s
11. Chloe Grant, Graham Brunton Racing, +22.240s
12. Jessica Edgar, Fortec Motorsport, +22.674s
13. Christian Lester, RossoVerde Racing, +34.836s