• Get your Christmas on Track
  • 2023 Season Passes - MotorSport Vision
  • Jobs at MotorSport Vision
  • MSV Trackdays
Rory Smith wins 2020 Formula Ford Festival at Brands Hatch

Monday, October 26 2020

Rory Smith won the 2020 Formula Ford Festival on the Brands Hatch Indy circuit yesterday (Sunday), defeating reigning champion Jonathan Browne by just over half a second in a close finish to the Grand Final.
Browne looked set for a repeat win, leading early on in the 20 lap race, and he was aided by dampness on the edge of the track which reduced overtaking possibilities. Chances did arise however and Smith, who started from fourth, made his move for the lead at Clearways midway through the race.

Neil Maclennan followed Smith past at Driuids on lap 12 and the leading trop continued to circulate at close proximity in that order until Maclennan ran off the track at Paddock Hill Bend, resulting in a safety car period.

This resulted in a three-lap dash to the finish from which Smith got an excellent restart before Browne hunted him back down again. The gap came down but Browne ran out of time to make a decisive move, just missing out on back-to-back Festival victories.

Matt Cowley produced a charging drive to rise from 10th on the grid to the final podium place by the finish, ahead of Chris Middlehurst in fourth and impressive young American Bryce Aron who completed the top-five.

BRSCC Formula Ford Festival, Grand Final, Result

1, Rory Smith, Medina JL18, 20 laps
2, Jonathan Browne, Ray GR18, +0.566s
3, Matt Cowley, Van Diemen JL15, +3.160s
4, Chris Middlehurst, Van Diemen LA10, +3.297s
5, Bryce Aron, Ray GR18, +3.557s
6, Maxwell Esterson, Ray GR15, +4.181s
7, Jordan Dempsey, Spectrum O11D, +4.750s
8, Luke Cooper, Swift SC18, +5.301s
9, Morgan Quinn, Van Diemen RF99, +5.858s
10, Jackson Lee, Ray GR19, +6.959s

Click here for the full race result.