• 2023 Season Passes - MotorSport Vision
  • Jobs at MotorSport Vision
  • MSV Trackdays
Oliver and Garrett finish on top after Monday morning racing

Monday, April 22 2019

A nail-biting morning of racing brought victory for both Stuart Oliver and Luke Garrett in Division 1 and Division 2 respectively, with wheel-clashing action unfolding across both races at today's Easter British Truck Racing.

Ten-time BTRA champion Stuart Oliver took the first Division 1 win of the day producing a masterclass in racing, taking the chequered flag with a 12-second gap over second place Ryan Smith.

The reverse grid format ensured plenty of overtaking with Oliver weaving his way through the pack at the wheel of his Volvo VNL. It was reigning champion Smith who had to work extra hard for the second step of the podium after a mishap half way through the race caused him to run wide into the gravel at Paddock Hill Bend.

David Jenkins came home in fourth followed by John Newell in fifth. Cees Zandbergen, Clemens Hecker and Ray Coleman took the final positions, with Richard Collett unable to start the race due to an issue with his truck.

Luke Garrett hauled his way onto the top step of the podium in Division 2 after a stellar performance saw him distance second-placed Steve Powell by 16 seconds to the line.

The 2018 champion drove a faultless race from lights to flag, establishing a lead early on and distancing the rest of the pack. Steve Powell could not match the pace of the MAN TGX 13000 in front, but a steady drive ensured a second-place finish. 

The majority of the action unravelled behind as a battle for third place raged on throughout the entirety of the race, with Paul Rivett making a late last lap effort to overtake John Bowler for third. Both Eric Forsstrom and Simon Cole followed the ex-Renault Clio Cup driver through with Bowler finishing the race in sixth. 

Division 1 Result

1, Oliver, Volvo VNL 1300
2, Smith, MAN TGA 12000, +12.181s
3, Taylor, MAN TGA 12000, +17.474s
4, Jenkins, MAN TGX 12000, +20.315s
5, Newell, MAN TGS 12000, +26.808s
6, Zandbergen, Scania T124 12700, +38.904

Division 2 Result

1, Garrett, MAN TGX 13000
2, S Powell, MAN TGX 12000, +16.161s
3, Rivett, MAN TGA 12000, +22.643s
4, Forsstrom, Sisu RSM 2019 11000, +23.370s
5, Cole, Mercedes Atego 13000, +23.382s
6, Bowler, DAF CF 12000, +23.719s