• 2023 Season Passes - MotorSport Vision
  • Jobs at MotorSport Vision
  • MSV Trackdays
Cammish cannons to maiden BTCC win at Brands Hatch

Sunday, September 30 2018

Dan Cammish became the 17th winner of the 2018 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship on the Brands Hatch Grand Prix circuit this afternoon (Sunday) whilst 12th and 14th place finished for Colin Turkington and Tom Ingram respectively ensure that the championship fight goes on.

Pole-sitter Brett Smith led the race initially in his WIX Racing with Eurotech Honda Civic Type R, with Cammish chasing in his works-backed Halfords Yuasa Racing Civic, whilst their Respective team-mates, Jack Goff and Matt Neal scrapped over third place.

Cammish scythed past into an on-track lead he would never lost with a decisive move at Paddock Hill Bend, after running along the length of the start-finish straight side-by-side with Smith.

Neal overcame Goff in the battle for third place, before hunting down and deposing Smith for second to secure a team one-two. Smith hung on to third to claim a first podium in the championship ahead of Goff, with Vauxhall's Senna Proctor completing the top-five.

Meanwhile, laden with success ballast, the championship protagonists circulated in the midfield with Tom Chilton's Ford Focus RS just ahead of Turkington's Team BMW machine, with Ingram a little further behind.

Turkington briefly attempted to challenge Chilton at Surtees but the duo made brief contact, and he was forced to settle for an eventual 12th place finish, whilst Chilton rose to ninth, just ahead of his team-mates Sam Tordoff and James Cole.

Ingram was unable to maintain contact with his title rivals after Turkington's team-mate Ricky Collard acted as a rear gunner, forcing him to lose a little ground the circuit. Ingram eventually muscled past Collard at the exit of Westfield on lap five, but by that point Turkington had pulled a decent gap on him.

As a result, Turkington leads Ingram by 36 points, with 44 still available, whilst Chilton is eliminated from contention.

Race result

1, Dan Cammish, Halfords Yuasa Racing, Honda Civic Type R, 15 laps
2, Matt Neal, Halfords Yuasa Racing, Honda Civic Type R, +0.368s
3, Brett Smith, WIX Racing with Eurotech, Honda Civic Type R, +2.753s
4, Jack Goff, WIX Racing with Eurotech, Honda Civic Type R, +3.362s
5, Senna Proctor, Power Maxed TAG Racing, Vauxhall Astra, +3.922s
6, Dan Lloyd, BTC Norlin Racing, Honda Civic Type R, +8.102s
7, Aiden Moffat, Laser Tools Racing, Mercedes A-Class, +9.218s
8, Andrew Jordan, BMW Pirtek Racing, BMW 125i M Sport, +9.428s
9, Tom Chilton, Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Gallagher, Ford Focus RS, +12.421s
10, James Cole, Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Gallagher, Ford Focus RS, +12.632s