• 2021 MSV Season Passes
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • MSV Trackdays
  • YoungDrive with MSV
Lundqvist wins in BRDC British F3 at Spa as Monger claims podium

Sunday, July 22 2018

Double R Racing's championship leader Linus Lundqvist claimed his second BRDC British F3 win of the weekend in the final race at Spa Francorchamps today (Sunday).

Lundqvist passed early leader Billy Monger on lap two, and then led for the remainder of the race to stretch his championship lead once more. Pole sitter Tom Gamble claimed second ahead of Monger, who scooped his second podium of the year with third.

Manuel Maldonado was fourth for Fortec ahead of Hillspeed's Jusuf Owega, with race two winner Jamie Caroline sixth. Tristan Charpentier, Krishnaraaj Mahadik, Sun Yue Yang and Sasakorn Chaimongkol completed the top-10.

At the start, Gamble led away from pole, fending off a challenge from Lundqvist, while Monger also challenged. Exiting Eau Rouge and Raidillon, the top three were line abreast, with Monger pulling off a sensational three way overtake on the inside to lead the first lap.

The lead didn't last long though, with Lundqvist also moving past Gamble on lap one before passing Monger at Les Combes on lap two to claim the lead. Gamble also passed Monger for second on lap four and then set about closing down Lundqvist, who had built a comfortable 1.671s lead by the end of lap four. The lead remained static for a couple of laps before Gamble reduced the margin to 1.191s starting the penultimate lap. Lundqvist's lead was down to under a second by the end of lap eight, and held onto take his sixth win of the year by 0.770s, and increase his championship margin to 120 points over Nicolai Kjaergaard, who failed to finish.

Behind the battle for the lead, Monger settled into third place comfortably clear of Manuel Maldonado who wasn't quite able to threaten despite running close by mid way through the race. 

Fifth for Owega was his best result of the year, as he climbed from eighth on the grid, finishing over a second clear of Caroline, who backed up his race two win with sixth place. Charpentier ran in sixth place in the early stages before settling for seventh, while Mahadik's eighth place was a three place drop from his starting position, holding off Sun Yue Yang by just 0.145s, with Chaimongkol just half a second further back. 

Kjaergaard's championship aspirations nose dived as he was forced out of the race after contact at the chicane on lap six damaged his car and left him unable to continue. The field heads to Brands Hatch in two weeks time with Lundqvist holding a commanding margin at the top of the championship table. 

BRDC British F3 Championship, Spa Francorchamps race three result:

1. Linus Lundqvist, Double R Racing, 9 laps
2. Tom Gamble, Fortec Motorsports, +0.770s
3. Billy Monger, Carlin, +4.030s
4. Manuel Maldonado, Fortec Motorsports, +5.605s
5. Jusuf Owega, Hillspeed, +14.602s
6. Jamie Caroline, Carlin, +15.863s
7. Tristan Charpentier, Fortec Motorsports, +16.817s
8. Krishnaraaj Mahadik, Double R Racing, +17.115s
9. Sun Yue Yang, Carlin, +17.260s
10. Sasakorn Chaimongkol, Hillspeed, +17.791s
11. Kush Maini, Lanan Racing, +19.284s
12. Jamie Chadwick, Douglas Motorsport, +19.952s
13. Ben Hurst, Hillspeed, +26.879s
14. Arvin Esmaeili, Douglas Motorsport, +28.438s
15. Pavan Ravishankar, Double R Racing, +29.457s
DNF. Josh Mason, Lanan Racing, +2 laps
DNF. Ayrton Simmons, Chris Dittmann Racing, +2 laps
DNF. Nicolai Kjaergaard, Carlin, +2 laps