• 2021 MSV Season Passes
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • MSV Trackdays
  • YoungDrive with MSV
Tom Gamble wins prestigious McLaren Autosport BRDC Award

Sunday, December 02 2018

BRDC British F3 race winner Tom Gamble has been named as the winner of the 2018 McLaren Autosport BRDC Award at tonight's (Sunday 2 December) Autosport Awards ceremony at Grosvenor House in London.

The 17-year-old saw off three other rivals and was selected as the winner of one of motorsport's most prestigious prizes by a panel of industry expert judges. As part of the prize, Gamble will become a paid McLaren simulator driver, join the team's fitness programme, and enjoy the crowning of a test drive a McLaren F1 car. He also receives full BRDC membership and an Arai GP-6 RC carbon helmet.

Gamble joins David Coulthard, Jenson Button, Paul di Resta, Dario Franchitti and new F1 graduates George Russell and Lando Norris as winners of the prize. He secured the honour ahead of British F3 rival Jamie Caroline, British F4 champion Kiern Jewiss and Formula Renault Eurocup winner Max Fewtrell.

All four candidates underwent simulator and fitness tests, as well as two days of intensive action on the Silverstone Grand Prix circuit at the wheel of MSV Formula 2, Ligier LMP3 and McLaren 650S GT3 cars.

The quartet then faced interviews with the judging panel, which included former BRDC President Derek Warwick, BTCC legend Jason Plato, former McLaren designer Mark Williams, 1997 award winner Andrew Kirkaldy, McLaren's Amelia Lewis, commentator Ian Titchmarsh and Autosport's Kevin Turner and Scott Mitchell.

After collecting the award, Gamble told Autosport: "I can't believe it. It's been a dream since a kid to win it. I'm lost for words.

"Two of the best days of my life at Silverstone driving three mega cars and the experience and skills I learned...I can't thank everyone involved enough."

Gamble raced with Fortec Motorsports in the 2018 BRDC British F3 Championship, and took two wins at Rockingham and Silverstone and five additional podiums in his first season of single seater racing, after winning the Ginetta Junior Championship in 2017.