• 2023 Season Passes - MotorSport Vision
  • Jobs at MotorSport Vision
  • MSV Trackdays
WorldSBK title battle wide open after Aragon round

Monday, April 16 2018

The 2018 World Superbike season looks all the more open after a thrilling couple of rounds at Spain's Motorland Aragon circuit at the weekend.

Jonathan Rea and Chaz Davies were the two winners, but unlike in previous years, Rea is not dominating. So far this year the Northern Irishman has won two races, whereas in 2017 he'd won five out of six!

Rea's win on Saturday came despite a wild moment at turn one, before engaging in a frantic scrap for the lead with Xavi Fores. Rea eventually broke clear of a squabbling trio of Ducatis to claim victory, with Davies and Fores completing the podium.

Davies denied Rea a double victory in an exciting second race, which was only decided on the last lap. Davies, Rea and Marco Melandri were engaged in battle throughout the race, the scrap becoming a fight for the lead when Fores crashed out on lap eight.

Davies made a move on Rea with five laps to go, and despite the triple champion's best efforts, Davies' extra aggression was made to count as he surged to his second victory of the year, with Rea settling for the runners-up spot ahead of Melandri.

In the championship standings, Rea holds a narrow 12-point lead over Davies, with Melandri just six further behind.

WorldSBK Championship standings:

1. Jonathan Rea, Kawasaki, 114pts
2. Chaz Davies, Ducati, 102pts
3. Marco Melandri, Ducati, 96pts
4. Xavi Fores, Ducati, 76pts
5. Alex Lowes, Yamaha, 70pts
6. Michael van der Mark, Yamaha, 67pts
7. Tom Sykes, Kawasaki, 63pts
8. Leon Camier, Honda, 42pts
9. Toprak Razgatlioglu, Kawasaki, 32pts
10. Loris Baz, BMW, 27pts

The series now moves on to the Assen circuit on 20-22 April, before then heading to Imola in Italy and Donington Park on 25-27 May for the only UK round. Tickets are available in advance priced from £28, with free entry for children aged under 13 and special rates for teenagers aged 13-15 and senior citizens. Click here for more information and to book tickets.