• 2023 Season Passes - MotorSport Vision
  • Jobs at MotorSport Vision
  • MSV Trackdays
Double Dutch win for Kawasaki WorldSBK duo, as Rea equals Fogarty record

Monday, April 23 2018

Kawasaki duo Jonathan Rea and Tom Sykes claimed victories at the Assen circuit in the Netherlands over the weekend, as the World Superbike Championship edges ever closer to the UK round at Donington.

Rea equalled Carl Fogarty's record of 12 wins at the Dutch circuit during Saturday's race one. The triple reigning champion and BBC Sports Personality runner-up qualified second and stormed past pole man Alex Lowes at the start of the race, only for Xavi Fores to jump both at the first corner.

Rea fought back by the end of the first tour and led the first seven laps. Local man Michael van der Mark took his turn at the front on lap eight with a move at the chicane, though his spell at the front was brief, with Rea edging past at the same spot two laps later.

Meanwhile, Chaz Davies had sliced through the field from eighth on the grid to join the scrap at the front. A three-way battle quickly developed, though Rea was able to create a small gap, enough to equal Fogarty's Assen record, and van der Mark and Davies finishing second and third, with Sykes fourth - the quartet separated by just 1.4 seconds at the flag.

Sykes then went on to clinch his first win of the year in the second race of the weekend, with a commanding performance. The Yorkshireman started from pole and stretched away at the front, setting a strong of fastest laps in the process to secure victory by over five seconds.

Rea finished second and stretched his championship lead with van der Mark taking his second podium at his home race with third.

Rea leads Davies by 30 points in the championship standings, with Marco Melandri third and van der Mark fourth.

WorldSBK Championship standings top-10:

1. Jonathan Rea, Kawasaki, 159pts
2. Chaz Davies, Ducati, 129pts
3. Marco Melandri, Ducati, 115pts
4. Michael van der Mark, Yamaha, 103pts
5. Tom Sykes, Kawasaki, 101pts
6. Xavi Fores, Ducati, 100pts
7. Alex Lowes, Yamaha, 76pts
8. Toprak Razgatlioglu, Kawasaki, 45pts
9. Loris Baz, BMW, 44pts
10. Leon Camier, Honda, 42pts

The Italian round is next up at Imola on 11-13 May before the series heads to Donington on 25-27 May. Tickets are available in advance priced from £28, with free entry for children aged under 13 and special rates for teenagers aged 12-15 and senior citizens. Click here for more information and to book tickets.