• 2021 MSV Season Passes
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • MSV Trackdays
  • YoungDrive with MSV
Shedden is champion by two points as Jackson wins BTCC finale

Sunday, October 02 2016

Gordon Shedden claimed his third Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship and second in a row by finishing third behind Mat Jackson and Aiden Moffat in the final race of the season at Brands Hatch today (Sunday).

Sam Tordoff made a fine start, but slotted behind Jackson and Moffat, whilst Gordon Shedden was boxed in, but shook off the Subarus to sit behind Josh Cook. Behind him was Adam Morgan, Jason Plato, Tom Ingram and a heavy Colin Turkington.

Tordoff had no time to breathe, however, as Cook was catching him and bringing Shedden with him. The BMW became very defensive as soon as lap three. Shedden attacked on the run to Druids next time round, and after a battle down to Graham Hill bend, the Scotsman was behind his title rival. As soon as this happened, Warren Scott ended his season in the gravel after contact with Dan Welch at Sheene Curve and the safety car was called into action.

Tordoff's rear-wheel-drive car would be vulnerable after the restart whilst the BMW's tyres got up to temperature. Sure enough, Shedden was straight on the attack and made it through into the following lap. With equal points, Shedden would be champion, having more wins, but Tordoff could still take fastest lap. Tordoff was struggling for pace, however, with Morgan closing on the BMW as Shedden got away.

Shedden carried on with his aggressive attack, and hounded Moffat for second. Meanwhile Tordoff's title challenge faltered at Druids when he lost out to Morgan. The WIX Mercedes caught Shedden, who was now having to race defensively, then the safety car appeared to rescue a stranded Welch.

Just one lap remained for the restart. Morgan was super-aggressive into Clearways and attacked at Paddock Hill and Druids, but the Scotsman was wise to his attempts. He crossed the line third behind Jackson and Moffat, but crucially two places ahead of Tordoff to take the title by a mere two points after the closest BTCC season in years.

Jackson won his fifth race of the year, equalling Turkington's 2016 record, but the Subaru man could only finish in 12th place.

Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship Race three
1, Mat Jackson, Motorbase, Ford Focus, 18 Laps
2, Aiden Moffat, Laser Tools Racing, Mercedes-Benz A-Class, +1.016s
3, Gordon Shedden, Halfords Yuasa Racing, Honda Civic Type R,+1.454s
4, Adam Morgan, WIX Racing, Mercedes-Benz A-Class, +1.660s
5, Sam Tordoff, Team JCT600 with GuardX, BMW 125i M-Sport, +2.600s
6, Tom Ingram, Speedworks Motorsport, Toyota Avensis, +2.734s
7, Josh Cook, MG Racing RCIB Insurance, MG6 GT, +3.046s
8, Rob Collard, Team JCT600 with GuardX, BMW 125i M-Sport, +4.093s
9, Jake Hill, RCIB Insurance Racing, Toyota Avensis, +4.188s
10, Jason Plato, Subaru Team BMR, Subaru Levorg GT, 5.937s

The MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship will be settled on the Brands Hatch Grand Prix circuit on 14-16 October and tickets are available in advance from £27, with free entry for under-13s. For more information call 0843 453 9000 or click here.