• 2021 MSV Season Passes
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • MSV Trackdays
  • YoungDrive with MSV
Shakey strikes after opening sessions at Cadwell Park

Saturday, August 27 2016

Shane 'Shakey' Byrne topped the times after the opening two free practice sessions at Cadwell Park, lapping under the existing record to hold off Luke Mossey by 0.399s ahead of tomorrow's Datatag Qualifying at the Lincolnshire circuit.

Leon Haslam had been leading the session during the early stages, bouncing back from his crash in the morning to initially fire the JG Speedfit Kawasaki to the top of the times, however Shakey was on the attack, moving to the top with 20 minutes left on the clock.

The pack was rapidly shuffling and Jason O'Halloran continued to improve his pace before a crash at Mansfield in the final 12 minutes briefly halted his charge. He was able to return to the garage and the Honda Racing team soon had him out on circuit but he had to settle for fourth as Mossey and Richard Cooper moved ahead.

Lee Jackson had another strong session in fifth with Haslam holding sixth at the chequered flag, narrowly holding off Tommy Bridewell and improving Christian Iddon. James Ellison and Jake Dixon completed the top ten, with Showdown contender Dan Linfoot in 13th place, just ahead of Michael Laverty.

Shakey said: "It would be silly to say I wasn't happy with how it has gone today when we have a gap at the top, but at the same time we still have some work to do as there are a few areas where I think we can improve. The bike is working ok, but it is like I have said before, this is a real race bike and when it is in its window its really, really good, but at the moment it is just on the window sill! We want to make some more improvements before the races, but it has been a good day."

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship, Cadwell Park, free practice two:

  1. Shane Byrne (Be Wiser Ducati) 1m:26.291s
  2. Luke Mossey (Quattro Plant Teccare Kawasaki) +0.399s
  3. Richard Cooper (Buildbase BMW) +0.649s
  4. Jason O'Halloran (Honda Racing) +0.673s
  5. Lee Jackson (Buildbase BMW) +0.770s
  6. Leon Haslam (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) +0.774s
  7. Tommy Bridewell (Bennetts Suzuki) +0.946s
  8. Christian Iddon (Tyco BMW) +0.988s
  9. James Ellison (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) +1.036s
  10. Jake Dixon (Briggs Equipment BMW) +1.101s