• 2021 MSV Season Passes
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • MSV Trackdays
  • YoungDrive with MSV
Limited F1 practice running for Jolyon Palmer in Abu Dhabi

Friday, November 27 2015

Jolyon Palmer could only complete ten minutes' running in Friday's (27 November) Free Practice session at Abu Dhabi - his final FP1 for Lotus F1 Team before he steps up to a full race driver role in 2016.

Shortly before the session was due to commence, a water leak was discovered on Jolyon's E23 Hybrid. The Lotus F1 mechanics worked extremely hard to remedy the issue, and completed repairs in time for Jolyon to join the track with just over ten minutes remaining.

Jolyon's initial timed lap placed him 18th on the leaderboard, and he gained a second in the final five minutes of the session, but with such limited running was unable to improve his position.

World Champion Lewis Hamilton led Free Practice One with a time of 1m43.754, just 0.141s ahead of team-mate Nico Rosberg. Ferrari's Kimi Raikkonen posted the third-fastest time in the 90-minute session.

Jolyon said: "It was frustrating to sit out almost the entire session, but we had a water leak this morning that needed to be fixed. The guys did a good job to get me out at all and I did four timed laps. The car wasn't the easiest to drive but it was nice to be out there putting some laps in in my last FP1 as reserve driver."

Alan Permane, Lotus F1 Team's Trackside Operations Director, said: "There was a water leak on Jolyon's car which meant he missed most of the session however his crew did a fantastic job to get the car out. With just nine laps on track, it certainly wasn't an extensive programme for Jolyon, however he did nevertheless complete vital work in his customary professional fashion which helps us ensure the car is ready for the rest of the weekend."

Abu Dhabi Grand Prix - Free Practice One - Results
1. Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes, 1m43.754s
2. Nico Rosberg, Mercedes, +0.141s
3. Kimi Raikkonen, Ferrari, +0.746s
4. Daniil Kvyat, Red Bull, +0.948s
5. Sebastian Vettel, Ferrari, +0.988s
6. Nico Hulkenberg, Force India, +0.997s
7. Daniel Ricciardo, Red Bull, +1.139s
8. Sergio Perez, Force India, +1.180s
9. Pastor Maldonado, Lotus, +1.560s
10. Felipe Massa, Williams, +1.679s
11. Valtteri Bottas, Williams, +1.849s
12. Max Verstappen, Toro Rosso, +1.964s
13. Jenson Button, McLaren, +2.019s
14. Fernando Alonso, McLaren, +2.111s
15. Felipe Nasr, Sauber, +2.361s
16. Carlos Sainz, Toro Rosso, +2.466s
17. Marcus Ericsson, Sauber, +2.653s
18. Jolyon Palmer, Lotus, +2.747s
19. Will Stevens, Manor, +5.082s
20. Roberto Merhi, Manor, +6.134s

Click here to visit Jolyon's official website.