• 2021 MSV Season Passes
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • MSV Trackdays
  • YoungDrive with MSV
Brookes smashes lap record to beat Byrne at Snetterton

Tuesday, May 26 2015

Josh Brookes smashed his own lap record on the opening day of the official MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship test at Snetterton, setting a blistering pace 0.706s under the existing record to fire the Milwaukee Yamaha to the top of the times.

Brookes had set the fastest lap of the session in the early stages but the battle at the top raged between the Australian and defending champion Shane 'Shakey' Byrne. The four-time title-winner upped the pace to knock his fierce rival from the top of the times and also lap under the circuit record, but then was forced to retire at Montreal with a technical problem.

Brookes then went back on circuit for his final run in the closing minutes of the session and with a determined lap set an incredible pace to move back ahead of Byrne and claim the top spot for the Milwaukee Yamaha team.

As the pair battled for the top spot, Jakub Smrz again proved that Snetterton will be a strong track for the Moto Rapido Ducati, moving back inside the top three towards the end of the session.  

Jason O'Halloran climbed back into fourth place for Honda Racing, whilst team-mates Julien Da Costa and Jenny Tinmouth both crashed unhurt this afternoon. The Australian contender was closed down by fellow countryman Broc Parkes as he moved into the top five for the first time today on the second of the Milwaukee Yamahas.

Parkes last session improvement pushed championship leader James Ellison into sixth place for the JG Speedfit Kawasaki team, just 0.005s ahead of Danny Buchan on the Be Wiser Kawasaki and Howie Mainwaring for Quattro Plant Kawasaki. Stuart Easton on the second of the PBM Kawasakis completed the top ten.

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship, Snetterton official test, session three:

  1. Josh Brookes (Milwaukee Yamaha) 1m:47.176s
  2. Shane Byrne (PBM Kawasaki) +0.441s
  3. Jakub Smrz (Moto Rapido Ducati) +0.781s
  4. Jason O'Halloran (Honda Racing) +1.660s
  5. Broc Parkes (Milwaukee Yamaha) +1.880s
  6. James Ellison (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) +1.978s
  7. Danny Buchan (Be Wiser Kawasaki) +1.983s
  8. Howie Mainwaring (Quattro Plant Kawasaki) +2.068s
  9. Chris Walker (Be Wiser Kawasaki) +2.122s
  10. Stuart Easton (PBM Kawasaki) +2.223s

Spectator admission to the two day test today and tomorrow is free. The 2015 MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship returns to Snetterton in Norfolk on 19/20/21 June for round four.  For more information please click  here.