• 2021 MSV Season Passes
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • MSV Trackdays
  • YoungDrive with MSV
Palmer secures second BRDC F4 Snetterton success

Sunday, August 23 2015

Will Palmer took his second win of the weekend at Snetterton with victory in the third and final race in Norfolk. He led home race two winner Tom Jackson, having initially surrendered the lead to the Chris Dittmann Racing man on the opening lap, only to regain it on the final corner of the first circuit. Harri Newey came home third for HHC Motorsport having made a great pass on Ciaran Haggerty to secure his place on the podium.

In slightly more overcast conditions than the first two races of the weekend, the Duo BRDC Formula 4 field headed out on to the grid for the final instalment of action in Norfolk. By virtue of his fastest lap in race one, championship leader Palmer lined up on pole position with Maidstone racer Tom Jackson for company on the front-row.

As the lights went out, it was Jackson who made the better getaway and he took the lead as the pack of 19 cars turned into Riches for the first time. Behind the front two, Jack Bartholomew moved into third with Ciaran Haggerty following him past Harri Newey, who was relegated to fifth having started on the second row.

Jackson and Palmer began opening up a clear advantage over the rest of the field but Palmer was determined to regain top spot and outbraked Jackson as the pair turned into Murrays on the opening circuit. The BRDC Rising Star defended the position into Riches and, with the lead secured, looked to get his head down and pull away from his rival.

Further back, Jack Bartholomew lost out and dropped down to sixth, with Haggerty moving into the final podium position. The Ecurie Ecosse Young Driver was battling Newey and the pair's squabble allowed Omar Ismail to close on to the back of the battle. Midway through the race, Newey got a great tow down Bentley Straight and pulled off a bold move down the inside of Haggerty into Brundle to assume third.

Up front, Will Palmer was putting together a number of consecutive fastest laps to extend his advantage. He eventually dropped under lap record pace, his best time a 1m49.751s, shaving nearly sixth-tenths of a second off his existing 300 circuit benchmark. Having lost third, Haggerty was soon relegated to fifth as Ismail followed the example of Newey to pull alongside down the Bentley Straight and held on around the outside to complete the move under braking at Nelson.

As all 19 drivers headed on to the final circuit, Palmer held an advantage of 10 seconds over Jackson and eventually took the chequered flag 11.143s ahead of his rival. Harri Newey was a further 4.400s back in third with Ismail and Haggerty completing the top-five. Rookie Jack Bartholomew came under pressure from Jordan Albert for sixth but defended well to hold on to the position at the end of the 10-lap race.

Palmer's win extends his championship lead to 74 points over nearest rival Jackson. Harri Newey moves into third place in the standings with his podium finish, relegating Rodrigo Fonseca, who finished the race in 12th, to fourth in the standings.

The penultimate meeting of the 2015 Duo BRDC Formula 4 season takes place at Donington Park on 12/13 September with rounds 19, 20 and 21 of the year.

Duo BRDC Formula 4 Championship - Snetterton - Race three

1. Will Palmer, HHC Motorsport, 10 Laps
2. Tom Jackson, Chris Dittmann Racing, +11.143s
3. Harri Newey, HHC Motorsport, +15.543s
4. Omar Ismail, Chris Dittmann Racing, +17.561s
5. Ciaran Haggerty, Ecurie Ecosse/GBR, +18.540s
6. Jack Bartholomew, Lanan Racing, +21.026s
7. Jordan Albert, Sean Walkinshaw Racing, +21.280s
8. Chris Mealin, Lanan Racing, +21.916s
9. Ameya Vaidyanathan, Hillspeed, +27.566s
10. Jack Lang, Lang Sport/Gorse Motors, +28.120s
11. Faisal Al Zubair, Hillspeed, +28.463s
12. Rodrigo Fonseca, Lanan Racing, +28.961s
13. Sisa Ngebulana, HHC Motorsport, +29.953s
14. Akhil Rabindra, Douglas Motorsport, +32.618s
15. Zubair Hoque, Sean Walkinshaw Racing, +34.206s
16. Fernando Urrutia, Douglas Motorsport, +34.359s
17. Joe Stables, JR Racing, +41.634s
18. Hernan Fallas, Hillspeed, +42.116s
19. James Reveler, 23 Racing, +42.569s