• 2021 MSV Season Passes
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • MSV Trackdays
  • YoungDrive with MSV
Oulton Park set for closest MCE BSB Showdown decider in history

Monday, August 31 2015

Oulton Park is set for the closest Showdown decider in MCE British Superbike Championship history this weekend (4/5/6 September) with four Title Fighter places still to be confirmed and 14 riders holding a mathematical chance of joining Josh Brookes and Shane 'Shakey' Byrne in the final battle for the title.

This is the first time since the Showdown was introduced in 2010 that four places have still been up for the taking at the final round of the Main Season and the three crucial Oulton Park races will confirm the final four riders to contest the three-round Showdown which kicks off at Assen (18/19/20 September).  

James Ellison is the first rider in line in the standings to bid for his place in the Showdown as the JG Speedfit Kawasaki rider returns from injury, but he holds just a slender six point advantage over Tyco BMW's Tommy Bridewell who scored victory at the Cheshire circuit in May.

Bridewell needs another podium repeat to keep the chasing pack at bay with Stuart Easton just two points adrift as he heroically prepares to return to fight for his place after being sidelined through injury at Brands Hatch.

The rider with the target firmly on his back is Michael Laverty on the second Tyco BMW who currently holds sixth place - the final position to make the cut for the Showdown. 21 points separate him from Honda Racing's Dan Linfoot but with a potential 75 points up for the taking in the three races this weekend.

Closing in on Linfoot is Buildbase BMW's Richard Cooper, he is now just 12 points adrift of his Honda rival but he also has company in the form of Luke Mossey who has closed to within three points and Billy McConnell is two points adrift of the Quattro Plant Kawasaki rider courtesy of his Cadwell Park podium finish. The Australian also has Peter Hickman in close contention with his double top three result at the previous round meaning he is a single point adrift of the Smiths Racing BMW rider.

Meanwhile with an outside mathematical chance of the top six Howie Mainwaring, Christian Iddon, James Westmoreland and Ryuichi Kiyonari need an incredible set of results and their rivals to falter at the final stage to make the cut.

The Showdown deciding round through the years:

Season Title Fighter positions available Title Fighters already confirmed
2014 2 Byrne, Kiyonari, Brookes, Bridewell
2013 3 Byrne, Lowes, Brookes
2012 2 Hill, Brookes, Byrne, Laverty
2011 3 Byrne, Hopkins, Hill
2010 1 Kiyonari, Hill, Brookes, Rutter, Laverty


For the full standings ahead of Oulton Park please click here


BSB Showdown Riders Squre