• 2021 MSV Season Passes
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • MSV Trackdays
  • YoungDrive with MSV
Voting open for McLaren Autosport BRDC Award

Thursday, September 18 2014

Nominations for the 2014 McLaren Autosport BRDC Award, a prestigious prize which gives recognition to the most promising young racing drivers in the UK, are now open.

Members of the public are invited to put forward names of drivers they think are worthy of the award, which can give a significant career-boost.

The award is open to any British driver who was aged 16 years old or over on 1 June 2014, and under 22 years old on January 1 2014. They must also have been born in the United Kingdom and hold a British passport.

The prize, inaugurated in 1989, aims to find the best up-and-coming British racing talent, with the winner securing £100,000, full BRDC membership, and a money-can't-buy test in a McLaren Formula One car.

Previous winners of the award include David Coulthard, Paul di Resta, Anthony Davidson, 2009 F1-champion Jenson Button and three-time Indy 500 winner Dario Franchitti. In 2013, BRDC F4 drivers Jake Hughes, Seb Morris and Charlie Robertson were finalists in the competition.

BRDC F4 drivers eligible for the award are:

George Russell
Struan Moore
Sennan Fielding
Will Palmer
Chris Middlehurst
Tom Jackson
Tom Bale
Jordan Albert
Connor Jupp
David Wagner

F3 Cup champion Toby Sowery is also eligible for the award.

To nominate one of the above, please email maba.nominations@autosport.com with your suggestion, using the subject line 'nominations'. 

The closing date for nominations is midday September 26 (Friday). Nominations are then considered by a judging panel with six finalists announced next month ahead of the Award tests at Silverstone.