• 2021 MSV Season Passes
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • MSV Trackdays
  • YoungDrive with MSV
Petroball's di Mauro edges out Maini to take maiden F4 pole

Saturday, August 30 2014

Petroball's Gaetano di Mauro has claimed the first pole position in F4 for the Petroball team with a stunning lap at Brands Hatch to just edge out Lanan duo Arjun Maini and Struan Moore.

Pole for di Mauro was one of many surprises in the session, which saw championship leader George Russell damage the front end of his car early on, forcing him to sit out the final 15 minutes and forcing him to start from last in the weekend's first race.

Silverstone treble winner Sennan Fielding also his trouble with an off at Paddock Hill Bend bringing out a red flag with nine minutes remaining. Fielding's car was recovered to the pits, but he also had to sit out the remainder.

di Mauro's fastest lap came just before the red flags came out, and improvements were few and far between when the session restarted.

Lanan's Arjun Maini was just 0.043s off di Mauro's pole time, while morning pace setter Struan Moore was third, despite setting a string of personal best laps late on.

Raoul Hyman is well placed to take the championship lead after Russell's drama and will start fourth for HHC Motorsport, while Rodrigo Fonseca in fifth means five different nationalities fill the top five slots on the grid.

Jordan Albert scored a season's best qualifying performance with sixth for SWR -Caterham F1, ahead of Fielding who still claimed seventh despite his off. 

Chris Middlehurst, Gustavo Lima and Will Palmer completed the top-10, with the race due to start at 15.40.

BRDC F4 Championship, Brands Hatch Grand Prix, Qualifying result:

1. Gaetano di Mauro, Petroball Racing, 1m25.986s
2. Arjun Maini, Lanan Racing, +0.043s
3. Struan Moore, Lanan Racing, +0.130s
4. Raoul Hyman, HHC Motorsport, +0.464s
5. Rodrigo Fonseca, Douglas Motorsport, +0.542s
6. Jordan Albert, SWR - Caterham F1, +0.734s
7. Sennan Fielding, HHC Motorsport, +0.834s
8. Chris Middlehurst, Mark Godwin Racing, +0.891s
9. Gustavo Lima, Hillspeed, +0.929s
10. Will Palmer, HHC Motorsport, +0.939s
11. Charlie Eastwood, Douglas Motorsport, +1.000s
12. Tom Jackson, Chris Dittmann Racing, +1.117s
13. Rahul Mayer, Hillspeed, +1.176s
14. Diego Menchaca, Douglas Motorsport, +1.218s
15. Diego Borrelli, SWR - Caterham F1, +1.694s
16. Tom Bale, Chris Dittmann Racing, +1.931s
17. Alfredo Zabalza, Hillspeed, +1.971s
18. Michael Claessens, Mark Godwin Racing, +2.006s
19. Connor Jupp, Meridian Racing, +2.470s
20. Jai Nijjar, Meridian Racing, +4.535s
21. George Russell, Lanan Racing, +4.899s