• 2021 MSV Season Passes
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • MSV Trackdays
  • YoungDrive with MSV
Russell romps to maiden car race win in Silverstone race two

Sunday, April 27 2014

Lanan Racing's George Russell has taken a dominant win in race two at Silverstone, securing his first car race win in the process. Nicolas Beer claimed second for Sean Walkinshaw Racing with Struan Moore rising to third from 22nd on the grid to make it a Lanan 1-3 on the podium.

Yesterday's race winner Raoul Hyman climbed from eighth on the grid to take fourth place, with Gustavo Lima fifth for Hillspeed, having led the early stages of the race. Will Palmer claimed sixth for HHC Motorsport ahead of Chris Middlehurst who rose from 20th on the grid to take seventh. Diego Menchaca finished eighth for Douglas Motorsport ahead of MGR's David Wagner and HHC's Sennan Fielding.

With light rain falling just before the start, a wet race was declared by the officials, but all cars ran on dry tyres. Pole sitter Arjun Maini made a good start to lead into the first corner from fellow front row starter Will Palmer, but with conditions proving tricky on the first lap, the order was shuffled significantly as they crossed the line at the end of the lap.

Hillspeed's Gustavo Lima led at the end of the opening lap with pole sitter Maini second from Sennan Fielding and Russell.

Russell passed two cars on the second lap and then began to hound Lima for the lead and making the move stick on lap three. From there he proceeded to stretch out a comfortable gap of over four seconds at one point before easing off in the final laps to take the win by 3.8s.

Lima held second place for the majority of the race, holding off a challenge from Beer until lap seven. Beer made the first move at the Loop before Lima fought back down the Wellington Straight. Beer seized the initiative at Brooklands though and then pulled away from the chasing pack which had developed behind Lima.

Moore's third place was earned with a fantastic recovery drive from 22nd and last on the grid after being unable to complete a lap in yesterday's opening race. After just three laps he had climbed to seventh before taking sixth by passing Rodrigo Fonseca on lap four. He then quickly latched onto the train forming behind Lima and climbed to fifth on lap six and third on lap seven. On the final lap he closed to right under Beer's rear wing, but was unable to pass as they crossed the line to finish the race.

Hyman took fourth and looked set to challenge for another podium with a strong drive from eighth on the reverse grid before settling for the position, with Lima eventually shuffled down to fifth. Palmer's sixth place included the fastest lap of the race, but times were quicker in yesterday's race, with Sennan Fielding's fastest lap from yesterday proving enough to take pole for race three.

The top three finishers were presented with their trophies on the podium by BRDC Club Secretary Stuart Pringle.

Speaking after the race, Russell enthused: "The first few laps were very difficult and I was in a pack of six cars and we didn't know where to position the cars because it was raining. I managed to get to the front and it was great then just to do some laps and pull away and it was brilliant to take the win."

Hyman continues to lead the BRDC F4 Championship after his win yesterday and fourth place today. Russell is now second, nine points adrift with Beer third.

BRDC F4 Race two, Silverstone GP result:

1. George Russell, Lanan Racing, 9 laps
2. Nicolas Beer, Sean Walkinshaw Racing, +3.890s
3. Struan Moore, Lanan Racing, +4.293s
4. Raoul Hyman, HHC Motorsport, +4.827s
5. Gustavo Lima, Hillspeed, +5.653s
6. Will Palmer, HHC Motorsport, +6.101s
7. Chris Middlehurst, Mark Godwin Racing, +7.792s
8. Diego Menchaca, Douglas Motorsport, +8.043s
9. David Wagner, Mark Godwin Racing, +9.584s
10. Sennan Fielding, HHC Motorsport, +11.668s