• 2021 MSV Season Passes
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • MSV Trackdays
  • YoungDrive with MSV
Smith holds off Summerfield for final Truck win of the weekend

Sunday, April 21 2013

Dave Smith took a second win in the British Truck Racing Championship at Brands Hatch today (Sunday), completing a thrilling weekend of racing. The Division 2 pacesetter again built up enough of an advantage to hold off a dominant Matt Summerfield, who completed a clean sweep of Division 1 victories.

Oscar Clark and Cees Zandbergen took early class leads at the start, with Brian Burt and Dave Jenkins taking over within a lap. However Smith was at the front of the field by lap four and set off to protect his position.

Stuart Oliver slotted into second place in the chasing Division 1 trucks and chased after Jenkins as Summerfield worked his way through the pack. Under pressure, Jenkins ran wide at McLarens and narrowly missed the tyre wall, losing several places in the process. This left Summerfield with just two trucks to pass and he passed Zandbergen with ease.

The overall result was decided by a very defensive performance from Stuart Oliver, who kept Summerfield at bay for several laps, bringing Steve Thomas into play. Summerfield barged his way through but with five minutes left had no chance of catching Smith, who had made a break for it once again.

Jenkins found himself in the wars with Heinz-Werner Lenz as he fought back through the field, and in the final laps he caught the battle for third place, which was just held by Oliver. Lenz held on for sixth place from Zandbergen, Luke Taylor, Richard Collett and Burt.

Smith said: "Brilliant weekend, couldn't have asked for anything more. I'm on form, and quicker than last year, so it's brilliant!"

Summerfield added: "I'm really over the moon, it's been perilously hard work, I'm absolutely trashed! The crowd have been amazing and lots of people yesterday said to me: 'I'm not cutting the grass tomorrow, I'm coming back!' It's been great. I think we're in the zone now, we're in the groove."

British Truck Racing Championship race five
1. David Smith, Foden, Div 2, 16 Laps
2. Matt Summerfield, MAN, Div 1, +2.524s
3. Stuart Oliver, MAN, Div 1, +7.837s
4. Steve Thomas, MAN, Div 1, +8.098s
5. David Jenkins, MAN, Div 1, +10.133s
6. Heinz-Werner Lenz, Mercedes, Div 1, +11.404s
7. Cees Zandbergen, Scania, Div 1, +14.647s
8. Luke Taylor, Renault, Div 1, +20.811s
9. Richard Collett, MAN, Div 1, +23.428s
10. Brian Burt, Volvo, Div 2, +37.267s

The next major event at Brands Hatch is the DTM German Touring Cars on 17-19 May. Tickets are available from £29, with free entry for children aged 12 and under. For more information call 0843 453 9000 or click here.