• 2021 MSV Season Passes
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • MSV Trackdays
  • YoungDrive with MSV
Barcelona Formula Two winter test line-up revealed

Monday, December 12 2011

Eighteen promising young drivers from nine different countries will take part in tomorrow's (Tuesday 13 December) opening day of Formula Two testing at Spain's Circuit de Catalunya.

Among them is a wide variety of new and returning drivers all eager to begin preparations for the 2012 and fourth FIA Formula Two Championship season, which last week unveiled its new F1-dominated calendar.

2011 runner-up Christopher Zanella heads up a number of returning drivers which also includes race-winners Miki Monras and Mihai Marinescu along with Kelvin Snoeks, James Cole and Max Snegirev (Cole and Snegirev both day two). Zanella is also one of four Swiss drivers taking part in the two-day test.

The F2 paddock will also feature several new faces including recently-crowned European F3 Open champion Alex Fontana and Dunlop MSA Formula Ford Champion of Great Britain Scott Malvern.

Aaron Steele will also make his F2 debut after being awarded a prize test for his performance in the British F3 Cup. German F3 racers Riccardo Brutschin and Markus Pommer will be present together with Italian F3 front-runner Edoardo Liberati.

Reigning F2 champion Mirko Bortolotti will also be in attendance to assist with testing developments on next year's F2 car.

To aid drivers during the test, each will receive two new sets of tyres per day together with full briefings and support from the expert F2 engineers. They will also receive full data comparison with the fastest driver, including onboard videos, to ensure maximum learning opportunity.

The two day test takes place on 13 and 14 December at Barcelona's Circuit de Catalunya with full coverage on the official F2 website - www.formulatwo.com

Day one - entry list:

Miki Monras (ESP)
Christopher Zanella (CHE)
Aaron Steele (GBR)
Sandro Zeller (CHE)
Vittorio Ghirelli (ITA)
Scott Malvern (GBR)
Mauro Calamia (CHE)
Mihai Marinescu (ROM)
Kelvin Snoeks (NED)
Alex Craven (GBR)
Edoardo Liberati (ITA)
Sasha Radola (CRO)
Riccardo Brutschin (DEU)
Maxime Jousse (FRA)
Hector Hurst (GBR)
Daniel McKenzie (GBR)
Alex Fontana (CHE)
Markus Pommer (DEU)