• 2021 MSV Season Passes
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • MSV Trackdays
  • YoungDrive with MSV
Brands Hatch crowns British GT Champions

Sunday, September 26 2010

Trackspeed Porsche's David Ashburn has been crowned 2010 Avon Tyres British GT Champion at Brands Hatch today (Sunday 26 September), after finishing fifth in the second outing of the day, which was won by the Preci Spark Ascari of brothers David and Godfrey Jones.

It was the Ferrari 430 of Adam Wilcox that assumed the race lead initially, with David Jones passing Michael Bentwood's Aston Martin at Paddock Hill Bend to clinch second on the opening lap. However, Bentwood fought back to demote Jones back to third by the end of lap three - although Jones reclaimed the place two laps later.

When the pit window opened on lap 12, Jones was the first driver to make the mandatory stop whilst the majority of the field opted to stay out on track. As the Ascari rejoined the circuit one of its main challengers, the Bentwood/Howard Aston Martin, slowed dramatically before retiring with a punctured oil cooler, leaving the Ferraris of Ferrier and Wilcox to rival second Ascari driver Godfrey Jones for victory.

Wilcox inherited the lead following the Jones brothers' pit stop, however, Richard Westbrook scythed his way through into first position at Druids on lap 15 and was followed through by Tom Ferrier, pushing Wilcox down to third.

The race was interrupted two laps later when Jake Rattenbury's Ginetta G50 went off at Paddock Hill Bend, causing a safety car period - during which the rest of the field opted to make their pit stop.

When the race restarted there was a degree of tussling around the first two corners, which allowed Ferrier's Ferrari, now in the hands of Paul Warren, to take the lead ahead of Phil Burton's Ferrari 430 and Jones in the Ascari, as Vibe Smed's Century Motorsport Ginetta went off at Graham Hill Bend.

However, Godfrey Jones then launched an attack on his rivals, working his way back to first position before building a sizeable lead in the wet conditions to romp home to victory with a ten second margin.

Behind the Ascari, Warren steered the Chad Racing Ferrari to a consistent second place as the battle raged on for the final podium position.

Burton's Ferrari initially had the advantage until he ran wide at Paddock Hill Bend and dropped to fourth place behind the two Trackspeed Porsches - although a subsequent spin for David Ashburn allowed Burton to reclaim fourth place.

Despite his rotation, Ashburn recovered to fifth, which was sufficient to secure him the 2010 British GT title.

With just nine cars still running, Matt Griffin and Duncan Cameron took sixth in their Mtech Ferrari after starting from the pit lane and suffering an early spin at Surtees.

Julian Draper and Daniel Lloyd secured G4 class honours in seventh place, ahead of the Hetherington brothers' Century Motorsport Ginetta G50.

After being involved in some pushing and shoving during the safety car restart, the damaged Speedworks Ginetta limped home in ninth, three laps adrift - although the points finish was enough to clinch this year's G4 title for driver pairing Jamie Stanley and Christian Dick.

The final retirement from the second encounter was the Aston Martin of Andrew Howard and Leo Machitski, which went off at Druids in the early stages of the race.

Avon Tyres British GT Championship, Brands Hatch, race two:
1. David Jones/Godfrey Jones (Preci Spark Ascari KZ1R), 32 laps
2. Tom Ferrier/Paul Warren (Chad Racing Ferrari 430 Scuderia), +10.152s
3. Richard Westbrook/Philip Walker (Trackspeed Porsche 911 GT3-R), +16.191s
4. Adam Wilcox/Phil Burton (Ferrari 430 Scuderia GT3), +28.009s
5. Glynn Geddie/David Ashburn (Trackspeed Porsche 911 GT3R), +34.032s
6. Matt Griffin/Duncan Cameron (Mtech Ferrari 430 Scuderia GT3), +1 lap
7. Julian Draper/Daniel Lloyd (Barwell Motorsport Ginetta G50), + 1 lap
8. Ben Hetherington/Freddie Hetherington (Century Motorsport Ginetta G50), + 1 lap
9. Christi