• 2021 MSV Season Passes
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • MSV Trackdays
  • YoungDrive with MSV
Richard Evans secures second Derek Bell Trophy win of the weekend

Monday, August 30 2010

Richard Evans has claimed his second Derek Bell Trophy win of the weekend, with a commanding performance in today's (Monday) race for historic F5000 and F2 cars.

Evans started on pole in his Chevron B40, but was jumped off the grid by Neil Glover's Lola T332 in second. But Evans fought back was able to retake the lead half way round the first lap.

Darwin Smith, driving a March 722 made a storming start, rising to fifth by the end of the lap having started at the back of the grid.

Evans would be untroubled through the race, but Smith was to make further progress, rising to fourth by the end of the second lap, and moved up to third when Mark Dwyer retired his March 742 from fourth with a heavily smoking engine on lap six.

Dwyer had been running in third, but it was apparent he was struggling with a poorly engine, and quickly lost third to Smith before retiring.

Smith then picked off Glovers Lola on the next lap, but by now Evans was almost 20 seconds clear of the field.

The March 79B of Andy Smith then began to close on Glover, the pair running nose to tail for several laps, and the March squeezed past with just over a lap remaining.

Evans eventually won by over 30 seconds, with Darwin Smith second, and Andy Smith completing the podium.

Derek Bell Trophy for Historic F5000 & F2 Cars, Oulton Park result:
1. Richard Evans, (Chevron B40), 12 laps
2. Darwin Smith, (March 722), +30.806s
3. Andy Smith, (March 79B), +31.553s
4. Neil Glover, (Lola T332), +40.362s
5. Jamie Brashaw, (March 793), +1m23.300s
6. Frank Lyons, (Gurney Eagle), +1m33.129s
7. Keith Norris, (Chevron B79), +1m40.216s
8. Mike Barnby, (Modus M7), +1m56.904s
9. Mike Luck, (March 79B), +1 lap
10. Chris Atkinson, (Lola T332), +1 lap

The next major car meeting at Oulton Park is the GT Cup Championship and Lotus Elise Trophy on 11 September. For more information call 0870 950 9000 or click the link below.