• 2023 Season Passes - MotorSport Vision
  • Jobs at MotorSport Vision
  • MSV Trackdays
Bennetts BSB Race 2: Ray wins as Showdown line-up confirmed

Saturday, September 10 2022

Bradley Ray doubled up on victories with a last lap move on Tarran Mackenzie in the second race of the weekend as the Bennetts British Superbike Championship leader won race two at Snetterton.

Ray had taken the lead on the opening lap ahead of Mackenzie, who had eased ahead of his McAMS Yamaha teammate Jason O'Halloran.

Ray held the lead until lap six when the defending champion made a move at Agostini and then he held the advantage until the final lap.

Mackenzie was pushing at the front but Ray went for the slipsteam at the end of the Bentley Straight, making a move on the brakes into Brundle. The Rich Energy OMG Racing Yamaha rider then held off any counterattack from the defending champion.

Tommy Bridewell had moved into third place during the early stages of the race and the Oxford Products Racing Ducati rider bounced back from yesterday's disappointment to return to the podium.

Bridewell had a moment during the eBay Sprint Race yesterday, which had caused him to knock the kill switch and ended his hopes of a strong points haul. However, his third place in race two confirmed his place in the Showdown.

Glenn Irwin carved his way through into fourth ahead of Peter Hickman who completed the top five. Kyle Ryde took sixth place to become a Title Fighter for the first time as Danny Buchan did an impressive job to finish in seventh, but it wasn't enough to close the deficit.

Lee Jackson was eighth ahead of O'Halloran and Tom Sykes as the top eight riders in the standings confirmed their Showdown positions.

There was disappointment for Leon Haslam as he returned to the eBay pitlane, before later rejoining the race, whilst Christian Iddon was also forced to retire from the top eight.

Bennetts British Superbike Championship, Snetterton, Race 2:

  1. Bradley Ray (Rich Energy OMG Racing Yamaha)
  2. Tarran Mackenzie (McAMS Yamaha) +0.267s
  3. Tommy Bridewell (Oxford Products Racing Ducati) +7.201s
  4. Glenn Irwin (Honda Racing UK) +7.896s
  5. Peter Hickman (FHO Racing BMW) +9.450s
  6. Kyle Ryde (Rich Energy OMG Racing Yamaha) +11.526s
  7. Danny Buchan (SYNETIQ BMW) +12.037s
  8. Lee Jackson (Cheshire Mouldings FS-3 Kawasaki) +12.945s
  9. Jason O'Halloran (McAMS Yamaha) +13.622s
  10. Tom Sykes (MCE Ducati) +16.974s

For the full race result please click  here

Bennetts British Superbike Championship standings:

  1. Bradley Ray (Rich Energy OMG Racing Yamaha) 422
  2. Jason O'Halloran (McAMS Yamaha) 370
  3. Rory Skinner (Cheshire Mouldings FS-3 Racing Kawasaki) 246
  4. Lee Jackson (Cheshire Mouldings FS-3 Kawasaki) 243
  5. Glenn Irwin (Honda Racing UK) 234
  6. Tarran Mackenzie (McAMS Yamaha) 226
  7. Tommy Bridewell (Oxford Products Racing Ducati) 217
  8. Kyle Ryde (Rich Energy OMG Racing Yamaha) 204

For the full standings please click  here