• British Superbikes - Donington Park
  • British Touring Cars - Brands Hatch
  • 2023 Season Passes - MotorSport Vision
  • MSV Trackdays
GB4 race 3: Sherwood storms to maiden single-seater win

Sunday, June 26 2022

Elite Motorsport's Jack Sherwood claimed a maiden single-seater victory in the final GB4 race of the weekend at Snetterton this afternoon.

The Elite driver started fourth on the grid, which became third when pole sitter Jessica Edgar encountered an issue leaving the assembly area. A quick start saw him take second off the line from Logan Hannah and he claimed the lead moments later at Riches after going around the outside of Chloe Grant.

Sherwood's victory confirms his role as a title contender, and is his fifth successive podium finish. He finished over three seconds clear of championship leader Max Marzorati who extended his title advantage over Nikolas Taylor with another podium, while Tom Mills took third for Kevin Mills Racing.

Marzorati started sixth but rose up to second early on and initially put Sherwood under intense pressure, only for the Elite youngster to stretch his legs across the final two thirds of the contest with a string of fastest laps.

Jarrod Waberski just missed out on another podium, finishing just a second behind teammate Mills while Fortec's title contender Nikolas Taylor went from ninth on the grid to fifth.

Front row starter Chloe Grant ran in the podium positions early on and claimed sixth, while Megan Gilkes finished seventh despite pitting to replace a damaged front wing.

Logan Hannah had an off-track moment at Murrays early on and also had to pit to repair damage, and was eighth ahead of Edgar, who should have lined-up on pole but had to change a steering wheel in the assembly area and finished a lap down.

GB4 Championship, partnered by the BRDC, Snetterton race three result:
1. Jack Sherwood, Elite Motorsport, 10 laps
2. Max Marzorati, Hillspeed, +3.021s
3. Tom Mills, Kevin Mills Racing, +5.169s
4. Jarrod Waberski, Kevin Mills Racing, +6.282s
5. Nikolas Taylor, Fortec Motorsport, +8.970s
6. Chloe Grant, Graham Brunton Racing, +14.919s
7. Megan Gilkes, Hillspeed, +1m20.332s
8. Logan Hannah, Graham Brunton Racing, +1m28.724s
9. Jessica Edgar, Fortec Motorsport, +1 lap