• British Superbikes - Donington Park
  • British Touring Cars - Donington Park
  • MSV Trackdays
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive with MSV
Turkington wins in front of BTCC fans at Snetterton

Sunday, June 13 2021

Team BMW's Colin Turkington repelled an early attack from Ginsters EXCELR8 with TradePriceCars.com's Tom Ingram to take his first victory of the BTCC season in the opening race at Snetterton.

Ingram made a stellar effort on the opening tour as he hauled his Hyundai i30N alongside Turkington's BMW 3 Series on no fewer than two occasions, but the four-time champion held firm whilst getting temperature into the tyres of his rear-wheel drive machine.

The lead duo traded fastest laps later in the bout, but in truth Turkington was able to keep Ingram at arm's length until the chequered flag - scoring an important win in the process and the 155th podium of his BTCC career.

Rory Butcher claimed a lonely third place, but it was a promising first 2021 podium for the Scotsman after his off-season switch to Toyota Gazoo Racing UK.

Stephen Jelley fought hard to take fourth place, with his final pass by the MB Motorsport accelerated by Blue Square Ford of Ollie Jackson being particularly impressive.

Jackson held onto to fifth from a charging Adam Morgan as the Car Gods with Ciceley Motorsport experienced a topsy turvy encounter. Morgan's BMW climbed to fifth in the early running, before dropping to seventh, but the Lancastrian fought back well to take a first top six finish in his new stealth Bavarian car.

Daniel Lloyd maintained seventh for Adrian Flux with Power Maxed Racing, ahead of Team BMW's Tom Oliphant - the latter helping to cement four BMWs in the top eight.

Championship leader Jake Hill was ninth in his ballast-laden MB Motorsport-run Ford Focus, whilst Chris Smiley rounded out the top ten in the second EXCELR8 with TradePriceCars.com Hyundai.

Race 2 will take place at 1430, before the reverse-grid contest commences at 1720 - all the action is now live on ITV4.

2021 Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship - Race 1 - Snetterton 

Colin TURKINGTON (GBR) Team BMW  12 laps
Tom INGRAM (GBR) Ginsters EXCELR8 with TradePriceCars.com +2.932s  
Rory BUTCHER (GBR) Toyota Gazoo Racing UK +9.451s 
4  Stephen JELLEY (GBR) Team BMW +13.960s 
Ollie JACKSON (GBR) MB Motorsport accelerated by Blue Square +16.921s 
Adam MORGAN (GBR) Car Gods with Ciceley Motorsport +17.572s 
Daniel LLOYD (GBR) Adrian Flux with Power Maxed Racing +18.049s 
Tom OLIPHANT (GBR) Team BMW +18.373s 
Jake HILL (GBR) MB Motorsport accelerated by Blue Square +21.951s 
10 Chris SMILEY (GBR) Ginsters EXCELR8 with TradePriceCars.com +22.583s 
11 Ashley SUTTON (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +22.852s 
12 Jack GOFF (GBR) Team HARD. with Autobrite Direct +23.759s 
13 Daniel ROWBOTTOM (GBR) Halfords Racing with Cataclean +24.993s 
14 Aiden MOFFAT (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +25.415s 
15 Gordon SHEDDEN (GBR) Halfords Racing with Cataclean +26.015s 
16 Josh COOK (GBR) BTC Racing +27.736s 
17 Jason PLATO (GBR) Adrian Flux with Power Maxed Racing +28.663s 
18 Senna PROCTOR (GBR) BTC Racing +29.382s 
19  Sam OSBORNE (GBR) Racing with Wera & Photon Group +29.942s 
20 Carl BOARDLEY (GBR) Laser Tools Racing  +32.857s 
21 Tom CHILTON (GBR) Car Gods with Ciceley Motorsport +34.464s 
22 Árón TAYLOR-SMITH (IRL) Team HARD. with HUB Financial Solutions +35.358s 
23 Jessica HAWKINS (GBR) Racing with Wera & Photon Group +38.361s 
24 Rick PARFITT (GBR) EXCELR8 with TradePriceCars.com +40.530s 
25 Jade EDWARDS (GBR) PHSC with BTC Racing +41.030s 
26 Jack BUTEL (GBR) EXCELR8 with TradePriceCars.com +41.774s 
27 Glynn GEDDIE (GBR) Team HARD. with Autobrite Direct +42.730s 
28 Nicolas HAMILTON (GBR) ROKiT Racing with iQuoto Online Trading +43.230s
29 Sam SMELT (GBR) Toyota Gazoo Racing UK  +58.734s