• 2023 Season Passes - MotorSport Vision
  • Jobs at MotorSport Vision
  • MSV Trackdays
Ash Sutton wins 2020 BTCC title at Brands Hatch

Sunday, November 15 2020

Laser Tools Racing's Ash Sutton is a two-time Kwik Fit British Touring Car Champion after clinching the title in the final race of a dramatic season at Brands Hatch.

Motorbase Performance's Rory Butcher won the contest with Toyota's Tom Ingram and MB Motorsport accelerated by Blue Square's Jake Hill completing the podium, but the title race was understandably the headline story as Sutton got the better of his Team BMW rival Colin Turkington.

Turkington made steady progress early on but the BMW 3 Series has seemingly struggled in the wet conditions for much of the day, and Sutton was soon on his tail in a fight for sixth. Sutton sat comfortably behind the reigning champ but Turkington couldn't keep the Infiniti Q50 at bay, and the #116 slipped through at Paddock Hill Bend in the closing stages.

Halfords Yuasa Racing's Dan Cammish was fourth in the race - consolidating his third position in the overall standings - whilst Carlube TripleR Racing with Mac Tools' Adam Morgan grabbed a hard-earned fifth.

Sutton took sixth - and with it the title - after a late move by his good friend Josh Cook in the BTC Racing Honda Civic Type R.

Laser Tools Racing enjoyed a double celebration with Aiden Moffat claiming eighth, as the team also wrapped up Independents' glory.

Turkington could only manage ninth as his title defence ended on a rather soggy note around the undulating 1.2-mile Indy circuit, whilst Motorbase man Ollie Jackson rounded out the top ten.

2020 Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship - Race 3 - Brands Hatch Indy

1           Rory BUTCHER (GBR)  Motorbase Performance 24 laps
2           Tom INGRAM (GBR)  Toyota Gazoo Racing UK with Ginsters  +1.522s
3           Jake HILL (GBR) MB Motorsport accelerated by Blue Square +7.679s 
4           Dan CAMMISH (GBR)  Halfords Yuasa Racing +9.984s
5          Adam MORGAN (GBR)  Carlube TripleR Racing with Mac Tools +10.521s
6           Ashley SUTTON (GBR)  Laser Tools Racing +12.038s
7           Josh COOK (GBR) BTC Racing +14.094s
8           Aiden MOFFAT (GBR)  Laser Tools Racing +16.133s
9           Colin TURKINGTON (GBR)  Team BMW +17.320s
10        Ollie JACKSON (GBR)  Motorbase Performance +18.431s 
11        Tom CHILTON (GBR)  BTC Racing +18.764s 
12        Chris SMILEY (GBR)  Excelr8 Motorsport +19.008s
13        Tom OLIPHANT (GBR)  Team BMW +19.217s
14        Matt NEAL (GBR)  Halfords Yuasa Racing +20.935s
15        Michael CREES (GBR) The Clever Baggers with BTC Racing +31.358s
16        Jack GOFF (GBR)  RCIB Insurance with Fox Transport +35.780s
17        Paul RIVETT (GBR)  GKR TradePriceCars.com +36.679s
18        Glynn GEDDIE (GBR)  RCIB Insurance with Fox Transport +38.623s
19        Senna PROCTOR (GBR)  Excelr8 Motorsport +39.743s
20       Nicolas HAMILTON (GBR)  ROKiT Racing with Team HARD +45.302s
21        Jack BUTEL (GBR) Carlube TripleR Racing with Mac Tools +46.119s
22        Brad PHILPOT (GBR)  Power Maxed Car Care Racing +47.175s
23        Carl BOARDLEY (GBR)  HUB Financial Solutions with Team HARD +54.671s
24        Ethan HAMMERTON (GBR)  GKR TradePriceCars.com +3 laps
25        Sam OSBORNE (GBR)  MB Motorsport accelerated by Blue Square +12 laps
26        Stephen JELLEY (GBR) Team Parker Racing +21 laps
27        Andy NEATE (GBR)  Motorbase Performance +21 laps


1. ASHLEY SUTTON   350pts
3. DAN CAMMISH   334pts
4. TOM INGRAM   326pts
5. RORY BUTCHER   286pts
6. TOM OLIPHANT   228pts
7. JAKE HILL   212pts
8. ADAM MORGAN   206pts
9. JOSH COOK   196pts
10. TOM CHILTON   184pts
11. MATT NEAL   181pts
12. OLLIE JACKSON   152pts
13. SENNA PROCTOR   141pts
14. CHRIS SMILEY   106pts
15. AIDEN MOFFAT   105pts