• 2023 Season Passes - MotorSport Vision
  • Jobs at MotorSport Vision
  • MSV Trackdays
Brookes claims final race win despite McAMS Yamaha fightback

Sunday, October 18 2020

Josh Brookes claimed the final Bennetts British Superbike Championship race win of the season at Brands Hatch, holding off the McAMS Yamaha pairing of Tarran Mackenzie and Jason O'Halloran to celebrate the title victory in style.

Brookes had led from the start, but he did not have it all his own way as the McAMS Yamaha riders piled on the pressure throughout the final 20-lap contest.

O'Halloran had got the better of Mackenzie on the opening lap with a decisive move, but there were no team orders in evidence at McAMS Yamaha as he fought back ahead of his teammate on lap 14 to move into second place.

O'Halloran had no answer to Mackenzie, who was able to bridge the gap as he bid to close in on his VisionTrack Ducati rival, but in the end Brookes managed the advantage at the front to claim his second win of the weekend.

Christian Iddon in fourth was defending hard after a race-long battle with Andrew Irwin; the VisonTrack Ducati rider was able to hold off his Honda Racing rival to the line though, with Danny Buchan completing the top six for Rapid Fulfillment FS-3 Kawasaki.

Tommy Bridewell saw off challenges from Peter Hickman, Lee Jackson and Gino Rea to hold seventh after a titanic tussle for the final valuable championship points.

Bennetts British Superbike Championship, Brands Hatch GP, Round 18 result:

  1. Josh Brookes (VisionTrack Ducati)
  2. Tarran Mackenzie (McAMS Yamaha) +0.578s
  3. Jason O'Halloran (McAMS Yamaha) +1.339s
  4. Christian Iddon (VisionTrack Ducati) +8.816s
  5. Andrew Irwin (Honda Racing) +8.882s
  6. Danny Buchan (Rapid Fulfillment FS-3 Kawasaki) +9.042s
  7. Tommy Bridewell (Oxford Products Racing Ducati) +17.660s
  8. Peter Hickman (Global Robots BMW) +17.827s
  9. Lee Jackson (Rapid Fulfillment FS-3 Kawasaki) +17.891s
  10. Gino Rea (Buildbase Suzuki) +18.028s

Final Bennetts British Superbike Championship standings:

  1. Josh Brookes (VisionTrack Ducati) 288
  2. Jason O'Halloran (McAMS Yamaha) 267
  3. Christian Iddon (VisionTrack Ducati) 258
  4. Glenn Irwin (Honda Racing) 226
  5. Tarran Mackenzie (McAMS Yamaha) 215