• Jobs at Brands Hatch
  • Oulton Park Supercar Pageant
  • Legends of Brands Hatch Superprix
  • WSBK
  • MSV Trackdays
WRT Audis claim Blancpain GT Series qualifying spoils at Brands Hatch

Saturday, May 05 2018

Dries Vanthoor will start Sunday's opening Blancpain GT Series race from pole position in the Belgian Club WRT Audi R8 he shares with Will Stevens, whilst team-mates Frederic Vervisch and Stuart Leonard will start from the head of the pack in race two.

Vanthoor and Vervisch topped their respective sessions on a scorching afternoon at the Kent circuit, in a split qualifying session which determined the grid for both races, with both drivers in each machine setting times. Vanthoor and Vervisch claimed their pole positions on a circuit which has always suited the Audi R8 GT3.

Steijn Schothorst completed an all-Audi front row for the first race in the Attempto Racing machine he shares with Kelvin van der Linde, falling short of Vanthoor's benchmark by just a tenth-of-a-second.

The AKKA ASP Mercedes-AMG of Michael Meadows and Raffaele Marciello completed the top three in the opening qualifying period.

Vervisch was impressive in the second session as he claimed pole position in only his first Blancpain GT Series session of the campaign, edging out Marciello, who followed up team-mate Meadows' strong pace from the opening session.

Christopher Mies and Alex Riberas will start from third in the second race in another WRT Audi, just ahead of the Grasser Racing Team Lamborghini Huracan of Christian Engelhart and Mirko Bortolotti which won both of last year's races at Brands Hatch.  

The race-one pole-sitting Audi will start lower down the order after Stevens' best effort was only good enough for 14th on the grid.

1, D. Vanthoor, Belgian Audi Club Team WRT, Audi R8 LMS, 1:23.931s
2, S. Schothorst, Attempto Racing, Audi R8 LMS, +0.139s
3, M. Meadows, AKKA ASP Team, Mercedes-AMG, +0.387s
4, A. Riberas, Belgian Audi Club Team WRT, Audi R8 LMS, +0.434s
5, C. Engelhart, GRT Grasser Racing Team, Lamborghini Huracan, +0.447s

1, F. Vervisch, Belgian Audi Club Team WRT, Audi R8, 1m23.460s
2, R. Marciello, AKKA ASP Team, Mercedes-AMG, +0.109s
3, C. Mies, Belgian Audi Club Team WRT, Audi R8, +0.178s
4, M. Bortolotti, GRT Grasser Racing Team, Lamborghini Huracan, +0.256s
5, K. van der Linde, Attempto Racing, Audi R8, +0.270s