• British Touring Cars - Brands Hatch
  • 2022 Season Passes - MotorSport Vision
  • MSV Trackdays
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive with MSV
Novalak crowned BRDC British F3 Champion at Donington

Sunday, September 15 2019

Chris Dittmann Racing's Nazim Azman claimed his second win of the year with victory in race two at Donington Park, as a dramatic race crowned Carlin's Clement Novalak as the 2019 champion.

Azman took the lead on the first lap, while further behind there was immense drama for the championship battle. Hoggard and Novalak, starting 15th and 12th respectively, came together mid way round the first lap at Schwantz curve. The pair left the track, bounced heavily over the grass and rejoined at the back of the field. Novalak rejoined ahead of Hoggard, who had to pit a few laps later and remained at the tail of the field, while Novalak moved up to 12th by the flag to take the championship. 

At the front, Azman built a lead of over a second at the end of the first lap over Kris Wright, with Lucas Petersson moving into third. Ayrton Simmons also made a good start from seventh on the grid and climbed to fourth. Simmons moved into third at the expense of Petersson on lap two, and then moved past Wright on lap three to make it a Chris Dittmann Racing 1-2. 

Simmons began to close down the gap to Azman, which stood at almost two seconds on lap three, and by lap eight they were wheel to wheel. Simmons tried a move at the Melbourne Hairpin, only for Azman to get him back on the approach to Goddards. The pair crossed the line side by side starting lap nine, with Simmons trying again with a late lunge at Melbourne, with Azman again re-passing.

All this drama brought Petersson in third back into contention, but was handed a time penalty for exceeding track limits, which dropped him down the order. Azman hung on to take his second win of the year by just 0.432s from Simmons, while Petersson's late penalty handed a podium to Verhagen.

Verhagen in third climbed from ninth on the grid to take his podium, while Chaimongkol was similarly impressive from 10th on the grid. Kiern Jewiss meanwhile claimed fifth from 14th on the grid, while Petersson's penalty dropped him to sixth. Manuel Maldonado claimed seventh from 13th, Kaylen Frederick eighth, with Ulysse De Pauw and Hampus Ericsson, another driver to receive a penalty during the race, completing the top-10.

But crucially, Novalak in 12th did enough to be provisionally crowned champion. He ended the race with side pods full of grass after his excursion, while Hoggard finished over 20 seconds adrift of 14th placed Pavan Ravishankar at the back of the pack, having pitted to have grass removed from his intakes. Hoggard needed to finish ahead of Novalak to have any chance of winning the championship. 

The top-three drivers in the race were presented with their trophies on the podium by BRDC member and well-known journalist Peter Windsor. 

BRDC British F3 Championship, Donington Park race two provisional result:

1. Nazim Azman, Chris Dittmann Racing, 12 laps
2. Ayrton Simmons, Chris Dittmann Racing, +0.432s
3. Neil Verhagen, Double R Racing, +1.957s
4. Sasakorn Chaimongkol, Hillspeed, +2.150s
5. Kiern Jewiss, Douglas Motorsport, +6.275s
6. Lucas Petersson, Carlin, +6.666s
7. Manuel Maldonado, Fortec Motorsports, +7.795s
8. Kaylen Frederick, Carlin, +8.024s
9. Ulysse De Pauw, Douglas Motorsport, +8.371s
10. Hampus Ericsson, Double R Racing, +10.917s
11. Kris Wright, Fortec Motorsports, +12.081s
12. Clement Novalak, Carlin, +14.435s
13. Josh Mason, Lanan Racing, +16.976s
14. Pavan Ravishankar, Double R Racing, +17.772s
15. Johnathan Hoggard, Fortec Motorsports, +38.841s