• British GT-F3 - Donington Park
  • Festival Italia - Brands Hatch
  • Modified Live - Cadwell Park
  • MSV Trackdays
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive with MSV
British F3 trio in top-10 contenders for Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Award

Thursday, September 05 2019

The final 10 contenders for the Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Award have been selected, with three of this year's BRDC British F3 contenders among the selection. 

Fortec's Johnathan Hoggard, Chris Dittmann Racing's Ayrton Simmons, and Douglas Motorsport's Kiern Jewiss have been included in the list, and will now be invited to an event hosted by the Awards team, when the four finalists will be announced. 

This year's Award will feature a boosted prize package thanks to the new association with Aston Martin, with a prize of £200,000 for the Award winner and an test drive with the Aston Martin Red Bull Racing F1 team.

BRDC Vice President Derek Warwick is the chairman of the judging panel, which also includes former Award winners Darren Turner, Andrew Kirkaldy and Alexander Sims, as well as BTCC legend Jason Plato, Lola and McLaren designer Mark Williams, top engineer Leena Gade, leading commentator Ian Titchmarsh and Autorsport editor Kevin Turner. 

BRDC British F3's history in the award is very strong, with Tom Gamble winning last year's award and Lando Norris the recipient in 2016, with former BRDC F4 drivers George Russell and Will Palmer securing the honour in 2014 and 2015 respectively. 

British F3's potential representation in the award final is boosted by the inclusion in the top-10 of 2017 champion Enaam Ahmed, while Jamie Chadwick and Billy Monger, British F3 drivers in recent years, are also potential finalists. 

The final four drivers will undergo two days of testing at Silverstone including drives in MSV F2 cars, a Ligier LMP3 sportscar and Aston Martin Vantage GT3 machines. The 2019 Award winner will be announced at the Autosport Awards in London on 8 December.