• 2020 MSV Season Passes
  • 2020 Tickets on Sale now
  • SpeedFest 8 - Brands Hatch
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive with MSV
  • MSV Trackdays
Minshaw and Keen head Barwell Lamborghini 1-2 at Snetterton

Sunday, May 28 2017

Barwell Motorsport's Phil Keen and John Minshaw won the opening British GT Championship race of the day at Snetterton today (Sunday), stretching their championship lead.

Keen and Minshaw's front-row starting Lamborghini Huracan defeated the Macmillan AMR Aston Martin Vantage of pole-sitters Jack Mitchell and James Littlejohn after a thrilling fight in the late stages of the race. Keen duelled with Littlejohn around the 300 circuit as the sister Huracan of former BTCC racer Sam Tordoff closed in on the pair.

After several attempts to pass the leader, Keen made his move, with Tordoff also passing the Aston Martin for a Barwell 1-2. Seb Morris and Rick Parfitt were set for fourth place, but a pitstop penalty demoted them to seventh place, with Lee Mowle and Ryan Ratcliffe's AmD Mercedes taking the place. Reigning champions Derek Johnston and Jonny Adam finished in fifth place.

In the GT4 class, HHC's Will Tregurtha and Stuart Middleton took their second victory in a row, having passed the second-placed Lanan Racing Ginetta of Alex Reed and David Pittard at the start. The pair fell back after serving their 20-second pitstop success penalty for winning last time out, and Middleton chased down and passed Pittard before the flag.

Race two will take place at 16:00.

British GT Championship Race One GT3

1, Jon Minshaw/Phil Keen, Barwell, Lamborghini Huracan, 32 Laps
2, Liam Griffin/Sam Tordoff, Barwell, Lamborghini Huracan, +3.860s
3, Jack Mitchell/James Littlejohn, Macmillan AMR, Aston Martin Vantage, +10.371s
4, Lee Mowle/Ryan Ratcliffe, AmD, Mercedes-AMG GT, +21.858s
5, Derek Johnston/Jonny Adam, TF Sport, Aston Martin Vantage, +25.052s

British GT Championship Race One GT4

1, Will Tregurtha/Stuart Middleton, HHC, Ginetta G55
2, Alex Reed/David Pittard, Lanan, Ginetta G55
3, Sandy Mitchell/Ciaran Haggerty, Black Bull Garage 59, McLaren 570S
4, Adam Balon/Adam Mackay, Track-Club, McLaren 570S
5, Will Moore/Matt Nicholl-Jones, Academy Motorsport, Aston Martin Vantage