• 2020 MSV Season Passes
  • 2020 Tickets on Sale now
  • SpeedFest 8 - Brands Hatch
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive with MSV
  • MSV Trackdays
Champs Adam and Johnston win second GT race at Snetterton

Sunday, May 28 2017

Reigning British GT Champions Derek Johnston and Jonny Adam won the second race of the weekend at Snetterton today (Sunday), beating Barwell Motorsport's Liam Griffin and Sam Tordoff.

Adam fought for the lead at the start of the one-hour race, challenging pole-sitters and race one winner Phil Keen into Riches, but lost out at the hairpin. From there he was forced to defend from Tordoff and the Aston Martin spent much of the race keeping the Lamborghini out of reach.

Up ahead, Keen headed off into the distance, making up enough of a gap to prevent losing time with the team's pitstop time penalty, which must be taken by the winner of the previous race. However, the team was a little too quick with its stop, and a subsequent penalty promoted Johnson and Adam to the race lead.

Second place overall was taken by Liam Griffin and Sam Tordoff, who lost time to the leader in the final laps. The former BTCC drivers celebrated a strong weekend at a track where Tordoff has won in Renault Clios and Porsches, as well as the BTCC. The podium was completed by the second TF Sport Aston Martin of Mark Farmer and Jon Barnes.

The GT4 category was claimed by Sandy Mitchell and Ciaran Haggerty in the Black Bull Garage 59 McLaren 570S after the HHC crew of Will Tregurtha and Stuart Middleton hit trouble with a late-race incident. Alex Reed and David Pittard's Lanan Ginetta finished second, adding to their class runner-up spot earlier in the day.

British GT Championship race two, GT3
1, Derek Johnston/Jonny Adam, TF Sport, Aston Martin Vantage, 31 Laps
2, Liam Griffin/Sam Tordoff, Barwell Motorsport, Lamborghini Huracan, +9.143s
3, Mark Farmer/Jon Barnes, TF Sport, Aston Martin Vantage, +10.881s
4, Rick Parfitt/Seb Morris, Team Parker Racing, +11.091s
5, Jack Mitchell/James Littlejohn, Macmillan AMR, Aston Martin Vantage, +11.380s

British GT Championship race two, GT4
1, Sandy Mitchell/Ciaran Haggerty, Black Bull Garage 59, +1:02:46.877
2, Alex Reed/David Pittard, Lanan Racing, Ginetta G55, +1:02:58.568
3. David Pattison/Joe Osborne, Tolman Motorsport, McLaren 570S, +1:03:21.987s
4, Adam Balon/Adam Mackay, Track-Club, McLaren 570S, +1:02:45.841s
5, Graham Johnson/Mike Robinson, PMW Expo Racing/Optimum Motorsport, Ginetta G55, +1:02:48.515s