• 2020 MSV Season Passes
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive with MSV
  • MSV Trackdays
British F3 contenders head to Silverstone this weekend

Tuesday, June 06 2017

The UK's premier single-seater championship moves on to Silverstone this weekend (10/11 June), partnering British GT, two weeks after an intrigue-filled encounter at Snetterton.

Championship leader Enaam Ahmed bounced back from a troubled second day at Rockingham, taking two wins on the Norfolk track to further extend his advantage. Meanwhile debutant Jordan Cane, who had only turned 16 just days before the event, won his second race in the category.

Immediately behind Ahmed in the standings is Carlin team-mate Cameron Das. The reigning US Formula 4 Champion could only manage one podium finish at Snetterton. He also failed to maintain his Saturday pole position record, and chief beneficiary of this was Carlin's third driver, James Pull. Currently in fourth place in the title race, Pull will be determined to get his first British F3 win this weekend.

Third place in the standings is Fortec's Ben Hingeley, who had a consistent run of results at Snetterton but will be aiming to follow-up on his Rockingham win.

Douglas Motorsport had a weekend to remember at Snetterton, with South African Callan O'Keeffe consolidating his championship top five position. Team-mate Jordan Cane was one of the stars of the weekend with a mature and assured win and will be one to watch at Silverstone.

Lanan Racing's Toby Sowery returned to the podium at Snetterton and will be focussed on continuing this momentum with a long-awaited win at Silverstone. Behind him in seventh place is Chris Dittmann Racing's Omar Ismail, who didn't have as good a weekend, and will be desperate to fight back this weekend.

Hillspeed's Chase Owen, Double R's Jamie Chadwick and Fortec's Nicolai Kjaergaard complete the top ten, and all three will be aiming to improve on their championship positions at Silverstone this weekend.

Sowery was one of the winners at Silverstone last year, and will be hoping that this will be a pointer to this weekend's form. The other two races were won by eventual champion Matheus Leist, who won the Indy 500-supporting Freedom 100 Indy Lights recently, and Thomas Randle.

This year's action at Silverstone gets underway with the 30-minute qualifying session on Saturday at 10:40 before race one follows at 15:30. The partially reversed-grid race two begins at 9:00 on Sunday morning before the third and final race of the weekend gets underway at 11:40.

You can keep up with all the action from Silverstone through live timing and updates on the official British Formula 3 website. Highlights of the racing in Northamptonshire will also be broadcast on ITV4, BT Sport and Motorsport.tv one week after the meeting.

2017 BRDC British Formula 3 - Standings after race nine of 24

1. Enaam Ahmed, Carlin, 241pts
2. Cameron Das, Carlin, 197pts
3. Ben Hingeley, Fortec Motorsports, 186pts
4. James Pull, Carlin, 179pts
5. Callan O'Keeffe, Douglas Motorsport, 175pts
6. Toby Sowery, Lanan Racing, 155pts
7. Omar Ismail, Chris Dittmann Racing, 99pts
8. Chase Owen, Hillspeed with Cliff Dempsey Racing, 95pts
9. Jamie Chadwick, Double R Racing, 92pts
10. Nicolai Kjaergaard, Fortec Motorsports, 89pts

For full championship standings, please click here.

For more information on the BRDC British Formula 3 Championship, visit www.britishf3.com