• 2020 MSV Season Passes
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive with MSV
  • MSV Trackdays
Ben Hingeley wins thrilling British F3 race two at Silverstone

Sunday, June 11 2017

Ben Hingeley has won his second race of the 2017 BRDC British Formula 3 season at Silverstone today (Sunday), with Toby Sowery and James Pull completing the podium after a thrilling fight through the field from both drivers.

Hingeley led the race from the start, surging from fourth on the grid to lead his Fortec team-mates Manuel Maldonado and Nicolai Kjaergaard, who shared the front row. Kjaergaard sustained front wing damage on the opening lap, and would quickly drop down the order, eventually finishing the race over half a lap behind.

Pull also made a great start and was quickly up to third place, whilst Sowery ran fifth behind Callan O'Keeffe, and passed the South African early on. Just before this, Maldonado lost second place to Pull after running wide at Copse. Hingley, Pull and Sowery were all on a charge at this stage of the race and Sowery soon caught Maldonado, passing the Venezuelan at the end of lap four.

Sowery continued his stellar progress, setting the fastest lap of the weekend so far - just six thousandths of a second off his qualifying time - as he closed down on Pull in second place. By the final lap the pair were together and as they entered the Wellington Straight for the final time, Sowery drew level, and nipped down the inside to claim second place, just two seconds behind the winner.

With Sowery a few seconds up the road, O'Keeffe caught Maldonado, passing him for fourth place. The pole-sitter then had the Carlin cars to contend with. Cameron Das lost out at the start and was left to fight with team-mate Enaam Ahmed, a battle he eventually lost, then Ahmed passed Maldonado in the late stages to claim valuable points for fifth place.

Jeremy Wahome took an eighth place finish for Chris Dittmann Racing, ahead of Guilherme Samaia, who was given a penalty for starting out of position, having spun on the green flag lap. This promoted Chase Owen and Jamie Chadwick to the final top ten places.

Having received his winner's trophy from BRDC member and British GT racer Rick Parfitt Jr, a delighted Hingley said: "I managed to get a great start, that was a real factor in the race win. Into first after the first lap was what I dreamed off, really and they came back at me towards the end, I had to hang on a little, but I'm really happy with it."

BRDC British F3 Race Two
1. Ben Hingeley, Fortec Motorsports, 10 Laps
2. Toby Sowery, Lanan Racing, +2.075s
3. James Pull, Carlin, +2.278s
4. Callan O'Keeffe, Douglas Motorsport, +4.680s
5. Enaam Ahmed, Carlin, +7.425s
6. Manuel Maldonado, Fortec, +10.212s
7. Cameron Das, Carlin, +10.774s
8. Jeremy Wahome, Chris Dittmann Racing, +14.865s
9. Chase Owen, Hillspeed, +18.786s
10. Jamie Chadwick, Double R Racing, +24.679s

For more information, visit www.britishf3.com