• MSV 2019 Season Passes
  • Donington Park Stage Rally
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive with MSV
  • MSV Trackdays
Sowery takes race two win as Leist closes on British F3 title

Sunday, September 11 2016

Lanan Racing's Toby Sowery took a dominant reverse-grid race two win at the Donington Decider, as Matheus Leist kept his nose clean to extend his advantage in the BRDC British F3 standings to 25-points ahead of the 24th and final race of the season.

Following on from his eighth-place finish in race one of the weekend on Saturday, Eugene Denyssen started from pole position for race two. In contrast to yesterday's soggy weather, the sun was shining down on the Leicestershire circuit and as the lights went out, South African Denyssen was able to hold on to his position through Redgate.

Further back, there was a heart-stopping moment as Ben Hingeley in his HHC Motorsport car was slow away but the majority of the field were able to avoid him before he was able to get going. The big mover was Lanan Racing's Toby Sowery who jumped up two positions from his grid spot to run in second place as the field headed down the Craner Curves, with championship leader Matheus Leist gaining one position to fifth.

Leist's title rival Ricky Collard was making good progress from his starting spot of 17th and he found himself in 14th, behind Double R Racing's Enzo Bortoleto. The pair clashed during race one and they would come to grief once again in race two. On lap three, Collard got a better run through the Fogarty Esses and looked to attack the Brazilian into the Melbourne Hairpin. Bortoleto defended and as the duo turned through the corner almost side-by-side, contact was made sending Bortoleto into a slow-speed roll. His car ended up upside down on the exit of the corner but he was able to extricate himself unharmed, whilst Collard continued in 13th. The clash was deemed a racing incident following a post-race investigation. 

The safety car was called for to clear the stricken Tatuus-Cosworth and once racing resumed after a number of laps under neutral conditions, third-placed man Aleksanteri Huovinen got on the grass exiting Redgate and hit the barriers after losing control. Fortunately, his car was able to be recovered without the need for another safety car and that was a huge benefit for Toby Sowery, who on the same lap slid down the inside of Denyssen at the Melbourne Hairpin to assume the lead.

Meanwhile, Ricky Collard continued his forward progress through the field and found himself in the top-10 before passing Australian Thomas Randle through the Melbourne Loop. However on the next lap, Collard got out of shape through the Esses and that let Randle take the position back.

At the front, Sowery continued to extend his lead, setting numerous fastest laps to open his advantage to over four seconds. On the final lap, Maxwell became involved in a squabble with Leist and Harrison Scott behind, with the Australian able to fend both of them off but Leist in turn lost his fourth place spot to Scott. Collard meanwhile tried to take ninth from Omar Ismail, but the Chris Dittmann Racing car defended, with Collard having to settle for 10th.

That means that Leist now holds a 25-point advantage heading into the final race of the year, with just 35 points available for victory. Ricky Collard in turn is 27 points clear of Toby Sowery in third, with Randle a further 22 points behind in fourth.

The final race will be broadcast live on Motors TV, whilst you can also follow all the action through live timing and updates on the official British F3 website.

BRDC British F3 - Donington Park - Race Two Provisional Result

1. Toby Sowery, Lanan Racing, 13 Laps
2. Eugene Denyssen, Sean Walkinshaw Racing, +7.624s
3. Thomas Maxwell, Sean Walkinshaw Racing, +8.203s
4. Harrison Scott, HHC Motorsport, +8.337s
5. Matheus Leist, Double R Racing, +8.640s
6. Enaam Ahmed, Douglas Motorsport, +9.898s
7. Tarun Reddy, Fortec Motorsports, +10.632s
8. Thomas Randle, Douglas Motorsport, +10.756s
9. Omar Ismail, Chris Dittmann Racing, +11.806s
10. Ricky Collard, Carlin, +12.091s
11. James Pull, Carlin, +12.964s
12. Akhil Rabindra, Lanan Racing, +14.374s
13. Al Faisal Al Zubair, Fortec Motorsports, +14.898s
14. Ben Hingeley, HHC Motorsport, +17.030s
15. Jeremy Wahome, Chris Dittmann Racing, +19.778s
DNF. Aleksanteri Huovinen, Double R Racing, 5 Laps
DNF. Enzo Bortoleto, Double R Racing, 2 Laps