• 2020 MSV Season Passes
  • 2020 Tickets on Sale now
  • SpeedFest 8 - Brands Hatch
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive with MSV
  • MSV Trackdays
Ellison leads by just 0.081s in final free practice

Saturday, May 21 2016

James Ellison heads the MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship pack into this afternoon's Datatag Qualifying session at Brands Hatch after the JG Speedfit Kawasaki rider hit the top of the times in the final minutes of the third free practice session.

In another incredibly close session where the top 21 riders were covered by just 0.980s, Tommy Bridewell started the final practice as the rider to displace at the top. The lone Bennetts Suzuki rider after Ryuichi Kiyonari's crash yesterday, led the times throughout the early part of the session as spots of rain began to fall. However it was a short interruption and the pace began to intensify as the riders began to post personal improvements.

Richard Cooper was the next rider to take his turn at the top for the Buildbase BMW team, but the final stages of the session turned into a hectic tussle for the leading position with improvements across the field as Ellison hit the top and Laverty moved to second.

Bridewell dropped to third as Shane 'Shakey' Byrne climbed to fourth, formation flying with his Be Wiser Ducati team-mate Glenn Irwin in close contention. Luke Mossey had briefly enjoyed a moment at the top of the times, in the final stages but ended sixth fastest ahead of Christian Iddon on the second Tyco BMW.

Cooper held eighth as Jason O'Halloran and Leon Haslam completed the top ten. The 'Pocket Rocket' ended his session with a high-speed crash at Clearways, but the JG Speedfit Kawasaki rider was ok and ready to bounce back in Datatag Qualifying this afternoon.

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship, Brands Hatch Indy, free practice three:

  1. James Ellison (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) 45.492s
  2. Michael Laverty (Tyco BMW) +0.081s
  3. Tommy Bridewell (Bennetts Suzuki) +0.122s
  4. Shane Byrne (Be Wiser Ducati) +0.133s
  5. Glenn Irwin (Be Wiser Ducati) +0.140s
  6. Luke Mossey (Quattro Plant Teccare Kawasaki) +0.168s
  7. Christian Iddon (Tyco BMW) +0.175s
  8. Richard Cooper (Buildbase BMW) +0.209s
  9. Jason O'Halloran (Honda Racing) +0.226s
  10. Leon Haslam (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) +0.256s