• 2021 MSV Season Passes
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • MSV Trackdays
  • YoungDrive with MSV
Collard wins shortened race one after huge accident for Vaidyanathan

Saturday, May 28 2016

A huge airborne crash involving Carlin’s Ameya Vaidyanathan brought the opening BRDC British Formula 3 race of the weekend at Oulton Park to a halt after just six laps, with Ricky Collard taking the victory. The Indian was taken to the Medical Centre for a precautionary check but was uninjured in the accident; a testament to the strength of the Tatuus-Cosworth. Behind Collard, the podium was completed by Douglas Motorsport’s Thomas Randle and Collard’s Carlin team-mate, Colton Herta.

The race got underway in sunny conditions and off the line, it was Australian Randle who made the best start, vaulting ahead of Colton Herta for second and challenging Collard for the lead. The Carlin man covered off the Australian and managed to maintain his advantage throughout the opening lap. Further back, Matheus Leist claimed fourth by overtaking Sean Walkinshaw Racing’s Jan Jonck as Toby Sowery climbed to seventh, having started 10th. Sisa Ngebulana meanwhile jumped from 14th to ninth.

Randle closed up on Collard on lap two but then dropped back again on the next lap, allowing Herta to close on second position. Just 1.2s covered the top-three but after five laps, Collard had an advantage of 0.905s over Randle courtesy of setting the fastest lap of the race; a 1m31.533s. The Hampshire racer looked to extend his advantage as the field headed onto lap seven but the race was brought to a halt shortly after owing to Vaidyanathan’s crash.

Coming out of Old Hall Corner Ngebulana was slow and Vaidyanathan was able to slip down the inside of the HHC Motorsport driver heading towards Dentons and Cascades. As they took the right-hand kink, contact between Vaidyanthan’s rear left and Ngebulana’s front-right was made, sending the Carlin man into a scary airborne accident. He flipped multiple times before coming to a rest at the bottom of Cascades and the race was immediately red flagged. Medical staff were quickly on the scene to extract Vaidyanathan; he was taken to the Medical Centre as a precaution but released shortly after with no injuries. After the race, Ngebulana was excluded from the results for his part in the incident and handed four penalty points.

Owing to the tight schedule, an attempt was made to restart the race at the end of the day’s action but this was not possible and Ricky Collard was declared the winner with full points. Randle therefore took second with Herta third, ahead of Matheus Leist and Jan Jonck. Enzo Bortoleto took sixth, with Sowery seventh and Enaam Ahmed eighth, the Douglas Motorsport man thus gaining race two pole position. Thomas Maxwell finished ninth for Sean Walkinshaw Racing with Chris Dittmann Racing’s Quinlan Lall completing the top-10.

The BRDC British F3 action will resume on Bank Holiday Monday, with race two starting at 09:55 and race three taking place at 14:20. You can follow all the action through live timing and updates on the official British F3 website.

BRDC British F3 - Oulton Park - Race One

1. Ricky Collard, Carlin, 6 Laps
2. Thomas Randle, Douglas Motorsport, +0.905s
3. Colton Herta, Carlin, +1.574s
4. Matheus Leist, Double R Racing, +2.641s
5. Jan Jonck, Sean Walkinshaw Racing, +3.910s
6. Enzo Bortoleto, Double R Racing, +4.509s
7. Toby Sowery, Lanan Racing, +5.237s
8. Enaam Ahmed, Douglas Motorsport, +5.761s
9. Thomas Maxwell, Sean Walkinshaw Racing, +10.409s
10. Quinlan Lall, Chris Dittmann Racing, +11.117s
11. Ben Hingeley, HHC Motorsport, +11.615s
12. Krishnaraaj Mahadik, Chris Dittmann Racing, +12.225s
13. Eugene Denyssen, Sean Walkinshaw Racing, +12.823s
14. Aleksanteri Huovinen, Double R Racing, +13.641s
15. Tarun Reddy, Fortec Motorsports, +14.074s
16. Al Faisal Al Zubair, Fortec Motorsports, +15.713s
17. Akhil Rabindra, Lanan Racing, +16.949s
18. Jeremy Wahome, Chris Dittmann Racing, +18.131s
19. Ali Al Khalifa, Hillspeed, +20.325s
DNF. Ameya Vaidyanathan, Carlin, 6 Laps
EXC. Sisa Ngebulana, HHC Motorsport, 6 Laps