• 2021 MSV Season Passes
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • MSV Trackdays
  • YoungDrive with MSV
Newey closes on second in the championship with dominant Brands Hatch race two victory

Sunday, September 27 2015

Harri Newey claimed a dominant win in race two at Brands Hatch, his second victory of the year, as he came home over eight seconds clear of Jack Lang and Rodrigo Fonseca to close on the runner-up spot in the 2015 championship. With second, Lang took his best result of the season as Mexican Fonseca stepped on to the podium for the second time this weekend at the 1.2-mile Indy Circuit in Kent.

Owing to his eighth place finish in race one of the weekend on Saturday, HHC Motorsport’s Newey started from pole position and made a good getaway as the race began to lead comfortably into Paddock Hill Bend. Fellow front-row starter Lang, driving for his family run Lang Sport/Gorse Motors outfit, held on to second with Jordan Albert making a great start to snatch third from South African Sisa Ngebulana. Ecurie Ecosse Young Driver Ciaran Haggerty lost a place to Rodrigo Fonseca and dropped to sixth as Lanan Racing’s Jack Bartholomew jumped up to seventh, having started in ninth.

Newey began to extend his lead at the front and he started pulling out a gap on Lang, leading by over two seconds by the end of lap three. Further back, Manxman Chris Mealin slid down the inside of 2015 Champion Will Palmer at Graham Hill Bend to take eighth. Up front, Sean Walkinshaw Racing’s Albert closed on Lang but couldn’t find a way past, which allowed Mexican Fonseca, who finished third in race one, to join the battle.

As the battles continued throughout the field, Newey continued to build up his lead and by lap 10, had established an advantage of nearly five seconds over Lang. The squabble for second changed at that point, with Fonseca passing Albert to move into the final podium spot in third. Palmer meanwhile finally broke through the defences of Chris Mealin to reclaim eighth, and with clear air began setting fastest laps to reel in Mealin’s team-mate, Jack Bartholomew, in seventh.

The race moved into its closing stages as barely half-a-second covered Lang, Fonseca and Albert in second, third and fourth respectively as they battled over the final two podium spots. Palmer continued his progress up the order to pass Bartholomew and he was soon on the back of his HHC Motorsport team-mate Sisa Ngebulana, overtaking the South African into Paddock Hill Bend with just five laps remaining.

At the front, Newey continued completely untroubled and took the chequered flag at the end of the 25-lap race 8.522s ahead of Lang in second, who drove superbly to take his best result of the year. Fonseca, much like in race one, settled for third with Albert fourth and Ciaran Haggerty fifth. Will Palmer finished sixth ahead of Ngebulana, as Bartholomew, Mealin and Fernando Urrutia rounded out the top-10.

The trio stepped on to the podium to be presented with their trophies by Nissan LMP1 driver and BRDC member Harry Tincknell.

In the championship standings, Newey now has a 30-point cushion over third-placed Tom Jackson, with a maximum of just 35 points available in the final race of the year, as he closes in on the runner-up spot in the 2015 series. Jackson’s third place is now under threat with Ciaran Haggerty only three points behind in fourth, with Fonseca a further five points further adrift in fifth.

The 24th and final race of the 2015 Duo BRDC Formula 4 Championship season gets underway at 15:45, with Will Palmer starting from pole position.

Duo BRDC Formula 4 Championship – Brands Hatch Indy – Race two

1. Harri Newey, HHC Motorsport, 25 Laps
2. Jack Lang, Lang Sport/Gorse Motors, +8.522s
3. Rodrigo Fonseca, Lanan Racing, +8.885s
4. Jordan Albert, Sean Walkinshaw Racing, +9.359s
5. Ciaran Haggerty, Ecurie Ecosse/GBR, +10.700s
6. Will Palmer, HHC Motorsport, +14.386s
7. Sisa Ngebulana, HHC Motorsport, +16.643s
8. Jack Bartholomew, Lanan Racing, +17.276s
9. Chris Mealin, Lanan Racing, +17.437s
10. Fernando Urrutia, Douglas Motorsport, +18.943s
11. Faisal Al Zubair, Hillspeed, +19.367s
12. Tom Jackson, Chris Dittmann Racing, +21.557s
13. Ameya Vaidyanathan, Hillspeed, +23.460s
14. Akhil Rabindra, Douglas Motorsport, +27.903s
15. Zubair Hoque, Sean Walkinshaw Racing, +28.625s
16. James Reveler, 23 Racing, +28.899s
17. Hernan Fallas, Hillspeed, +31.257s
18. Joe Stables, JR Racing, +36.978s
19. Omar Ismail, Chris Dittmann Racing, +1 Lap