• 2020 MSV Season Passes
  • 2020 Tickets on Sale now
  • SpeedFest 8 - Brands Hatch
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive with MSV
  • MSV Trackdays
Steven Powell takes Truck Racing Division 2 title with race three win

Sunday, November 08 2015

Steven Powell claimed the British Truck Racing Championship Division Two title in style with a win at his home track in race three at Brands Hatch today (Sunday), whilst Stuart Oliver moved two points closer to Division One rival Mat Summerfield.

Trevor Martin got the jump  on Jim Bennett at the start, but Powell was fighting his way forward after a cautious first day, and was soon into the lead, with title challenger Luke Garrett following into second place.

Meanwhile a fierce battle in Division One saw Dave Jenkins do his best to keep Oliver behind and an inevitable collision at Graham Hill bend saw Oliver clear of his nemesis as he chased after title leader Summerfield. At the front of the pack, Steve Thomas led Oly Janes and Shane Brereton.

Later, Richard Collett and Summerfield collided, delaying the former, and Oliver was soon on his rival's tail, with team-mate Brereton ahead of the pair. He got out of the way of the title fight, however, and after passing Oly Janes for second in class, Oliver headed off after Steve Thomas, now several seconds up the road.

Oliver also had worries from behind, however, with a recovering Jenkins now on his tail. For several laps it looked as though there may be further repercussions, and as Oliver closed on Thomas, he was unable to pass as Jenkins made sure that he tracked his every move, forcing a defensive final few laps from the title challenger. Nevertheless, he clawed back two points from Summerfield, making the gap between the pair now just five points.

There were similar worries for Powell, who was holding championship rival Garrett back, despite an attempt by the latter to take the lead, soon rebuffed by the champion-elect. Despite having to defend, the pair kept ahead of Thomas by over six seconds by the chequered flag, so Powell won the Division Two title in style - by winning the race overall.

"[I'm] really happy, a great race, and a hard race as well," said an ecstatic Powell. "To do it here in front of everyone is absolutely fantastic. I did it the smart way yesterday but that was boring, so I went for it today!"

Thomas, Oliver, Jenkins and Summerfield finished behind the top two, heading Division Two's Adam Bint, Simon Cole and Tony Smith. Brereton completed the top ten.

Race four will take place at 1:35pm.

British Truck Racing Championship Race Three
1, Steven Powell, Foden Alfa, Division Two, 14 Laps
2, Luke Garrett, ERF, Division Two, +0.366s
3, Steve Thomas, MAN TGX, Division One, +6.745s
4, Stuart Oliver, Volvo RH13, Division One, +8.493s
5, David Jenkins, MAN TGX, Division One, +9.176s
6, Mat Summerfield, MAN TGS, Division One, +11.871s
7, Adam Bint, Volvo White, Division Two, +18.369s
8, Simon Cole, Mercedes, Division Two, +20.527s
9, Tony Smith, Sisu, Division Two, +25.682s
10, Shane Brereton, SCANIA P1150, Division One, +27.369s

Raceday tickets for Truck Racing and Fireworks at Brands Hatch on Sunday 8 November are available on the gate for £23, or £12 for 13-15 year-olds, with free entry to under-13s. For more information call 0843 453 9000 or click here.