• MSV Trackdays
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive with MSV
MSVR-organised FIA Formula E finale takes place this weekend

Tuesday, June 23 2015

The inaugural FIA Formula E Championship heads to London this weekend (27/28 June) for a thrilling finale, with on-track events organised by MSVR, the race-administering division of MotorSport Vision.

Formula E is contested by teams running identical all-electric Spark-Renault single-seaters and every race is held in a city centre to help promote the EV concept. Each driver has two cars, and each contains a battery with enough charge to complete just over half of the race distance, meaning that they must pit to swap machinery.

The event takes place at Battersea Park in the heart of the capital, on a course consisting of park roads, which has entailed several days of preparation. The London event is Formula E's first double-header, with 60 points on offer to the drivers, and each day will feature practice, qualifying and race sessions.

The opening nine rounds have seen close and enthralling racing, with plenty of drama and seven different winners. Mathematically, six remain in contention to be the first FIA Formula E champion, but the title is expected to be fought by a trio of former F1 drivers: Nelson Piquet Jr, Lucas di Grassi and Sébastien Buemi.

Piquet, son of the triple F1 champion, has a 17 point advantage over di Grassi, who won the inaugural race in China last September. Just six points behind the Brazilians in third place is ex-Toro Rosso driver and reigning WEC champion Buemi from Switzerland. There are 25 points on offer for a win, with three points for qualifying on pole position and two for each race's fastest lap.

In the Teams' Championship there is a fair chance that French squad e.dams-Renault, which runs Buemi and Nicolas Prost will take the title, but di Grassi's Audi Sport ABT outfit could spring a surprise.

Britain's Sam Bird is sixth in the standings, and he will be joined by Oliver Turvey this weekend, who will be Piquet's team mate at NEXTEV TCR. The field also contains several ex-F1 drivers including Jean-Eric Vergne, Nick Heidfeld, Bruno Senna and Jarno Trulli.

Fans can get involved in the action by voting to help their favourite driver with the Fanboost system. Each car has a limited number of push-to-pass power boosts available in the race, and an extra use of this is granted to the top three drivers in the poll. Buemi currently leads the vote for Battersea Park - visit www.fiaformulae.com/fanboost for more information.

The 45-minute practice sessions will take place at 8:15 on each day, followed by qualifying at 12 noon, which is split into four groups of ten minutes each. The 29-lap race takes place at 4pm and is expected to last an hour. There will also be a supporting Formula E School Series race on Saturday and the event also features an EV motorshow, music and a festival atmosphere which will reach fever pitch when the inaugural FIA Formula E Champion is crowned. Click here to download a timetable of on-track events.

David Scott, Race Operations Manager at MSVR said: "The FIA Formula E championship is a hugely exciting concept. On track the racing in this inaugural year has been exciting and the championship will be decided at Battersea this weekend!

"For MSVR there have been significant challenges ahead of this event. It's in the centre of the capital city and both ourselves and Formula E have had to adapt to the necessary changes that the event demands, as have the army of marshals who are supporting this event. I feel confident that adding the London ePrix to MSVR's growing portfolio and excellent reputation for organising major international events will strengthen our reputation as we continue in our 10th year of race organisation."