• MSV Trackdays
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive with MSV
Shakey serves up double dose of Snetterton wins

Sunday, June 21 2015

Shane 'Shakey' Byrne strengthened his title defence by winning the second MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship race at Snetterton, scoring his first double victory of the season for the PBM Kawasaki team in an incident-filled race two.

Byrne again had a flying start from the pole-position to lead the pack into Riches for the first time with the Australian contenders Josh Brookes, Jason O'Halloran and Broc Parkes in close contention.

Ryuichi Kiyonari's disappointing weekend continued when he crashed out of the second race at Agostini corner, the Japanese rider was able to walk away and as the frantic opening laps continued the rest of the pack continued to jostle for positions. The Nissan GT-R Safety Car was then deployed when Taylor Mackenzie's Team WD-40 Kawasaki engulfed in flames on the third lap.

When the race resumed the leading quartet were scrapping to keep the advantage and Chris Walker was pushing hard for the Be Wiser Kawasaki team; he was holding fourth place until he crashed at Riches on the sixth lap.

At the front Byrne was edging ahead as the pack continued to tussle for the positions and O'Halloran was first to fight back, making a move on Brookes at the Bombhole on the sixth lap, as his fellow countryman experienced a problem that saw him drop down the order. Brookes had dropped down behind James Ellison and his team-mate Broc Parkes, but a resurgent Michael Laverty was also throwing himself into the mix.

O'Halloran, Ellison, Laverty and Brookes then diced for second place as Parkes dropped back down the order and Honda Racing's O'Halloran was holding off Brookes, who had made his way back into contention. However by the twelfth lap the Milwaukee Yamaha rider moved back ahead at Nelsons.

Brookes held off O'Halloran to claim second place with the Tyco BMW pairing of Laverty and Tommy Bridewell holding fourth and fifth with Stuart Easton claiming sixth after making a move on Ellison in the closing stages.

Filip Backlund, Christian Iddon and Dan Linfoot completed the top ten. 

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship, Snetterton, race two result:

  1. Shane Byrne (PBM Kawasaki)
  2. Josh Brookes (Milwaukee Yamaha) +4.676s
  3. Jason O'Halloran (Honda Racing)  +5.404s
  4. Michael Laverty (Tyco BMW) +5.471s
  5. Tommy Bridewell (Tyco BMW) +6.323s
  6. Stuart Easton (PBM Kawasaki) +9.146s
  7. James Ellison (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) +10.248s
  8. Filip Backlund (Anvil Hire TAG Racing) +10.627s
  9. Christian Iddon (Bennetts Suzuki) +10.868s
  10. Dan Linfoot (Honda Racing) +10.930s

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship standings after Snetterton:

  1. Shane Byrne (PBM Kawasaki) 151
  2. Josh Brookes (Milwaukee Yamaha) 134
  3. James Ellison (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) 118
  4. Stuart Easton (PBM Kawasaki) 99
  5. Tommy Bridewell (Tyco BMW) 77
  6. Jason O'Halloran (Honda Racing) 74