• 2021 MSV Season Passes
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • MSV Trackdays
  • YoungDrive with MSV
Spain and South Africa join MCE BSB grid with Rivas and McFadden at MQ Motorsport

Wednesday, January 28 2015

Spain's Dani Rivas and South Africa's David McFadden will make their MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship debut this season after signing for the MQ Motorsport Kawasaki team. This means there will now be ten different nationalities now represented on the grid.

26-year-old Rivas has previously raced in domestic action in his native Spain, before lining up in the 2013 Moto 2 World Championship. He finished sixth in the Spanish Superbike Championship (CEV) last season, scoring two podium finishes.

24-year-old McFadden, from Cape Town, is a multiple champion in South Africa. He took the South African National 600 Supersport title in 2011 as a privateer entry and won races in the Superbike class. McFadden most recently has experienced the World Supersport and European Superstock Championships and was awarded Western Province Colours for his achievements in regional and national motorcycle racing.

Rivas said: "My goal will be to move forward as much as possible and challenge for top positions with my new team. This year is all new for me and I am very excited about this project and a new championship."

McFadden said: "I am really excited and looking forward to being part of the team. As soon as I got the call I knew it was where I wanted to be, especially after a strong season in European Superstock. I have followed the series and understand that it's an extremely strong championship with top teams, riders and some awesome circuits. I would just like to thank Mark Quelch and Nick Morgan for this opportunity."

MQ Motorsport Kawasaki team owner Mark Quelch commented: "It is great to be back in the British Paddock this season after competing in the European classes over the last few years. We look forward to working with our new line up and battling for results."

The team will also line up with John Simpson in the Motorpoint British Supersport Championship and Josh Wainwright in the Pirelli National Superstock 1000 Championship.