• 2020 MSV Season Passes
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive with MSV
  • MSV Trackdays
Byrne wins race two to seal record-breaking fourth title

Sunday, October 19 2014

Shane 'Shakey' Byrne has made history at Brands Hatch by winning the second MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship race of the weekend to celebrate a record-breaking fourth title.

Byrne's victory gave him the lead in the standings to decide the 2014 title after Ryuichi Kiyonari made the tough decision to sit out of today's two races due to his fractured collarbone.

Dan Linfoot led on the opening lap as the pack streamed around Paddock Hill Bend for the first time ahead of the chasing pack of James Ellison, Jon Kirkham and Howie Mainwaring. Byrne had got off the line to slot into ninth place and had the task of carving through the order to seal the title ahead of the final race of the season with the top six covered by just 0.6s in the early stages.

Mainwaring pushed ahead of Ellison and then by the ninth lap had hit the front of the pack for the Quattro Plant Kawasaki team. Byrne has been decisively moving up the order and by the tenth lap was challenging Mainwaring for the lead. The Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki rider moved ahead and then had to keep Mainwaring behind him.

A lap later and Mainwaring made a move at Druids to regain the position but Byrne was instantly on the attack and he moved ahead on the fast run down Pilgrims Drop and then edged ahead as the laps counted down.

Mainwaring then came under pressure from Ellison with two laps to go as the Lloyds British GBmoto Racing Kawasaki rider took advantage of a mistake from his rival as he had a huge slide out of Surtees. Ellison grasped the advantage to move ahead and then hold off Mainwaring over the closing laps.

The pair had been coming under pressure from Josh Brookes on the Milwaukee Yamaha on the final lap as the Australian had cut the gap between them at the end of the race, but it wasn't enough for a podium return. Stuart Easton strengthened his position in the Riders Cup with a fifth place ahead of Tommy Bridewell and Jon Kirkham.

Dan Linfoot, James Westmoreland and John Hopkins completed the top ten. 

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship, Brands Hatch, race two result:

  1. Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki)
  2. James Ellison (Lloyds British GBmoto Racing Kawasaki) +1.904s
  3. Howie Mainwaring (Quattro Plant Kawasaki) +2.095s
  4. Josh Brookes (Milwaukee Yamaha) +2.253s
  5. Stuart Easton (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) +3.922s
  6. Tommy Bridewell (Milwaukee Yamaha) +4.152s
  7. Jon Kirkham (Halsall Biker Gear Kawasaki) +4.875s
  8. Dan Linfoot (Quattro Plant Kawasaki) +7.7.527s
  9. James Westmoreland (Buildbase BMW) +9.188s
  10. John Hopkins (Tyco Suzuki) +9.278s