• 2020 MSV Season Passes
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive with MSV
  • MSV Trackdays
Byrne wins final race of 2014 as celebrations kick off at Brands

Sunday, October 19 2014

Shane 'Shakey' Byrne has celebrated his fourth MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship title win in style by winning the final race of the weekend at his home round of Brands Hatch.

Byrne led off the start from the Milwaukee Yamahas of Josh Brookes and Tommy Bridewell as the pair scrapped for third in the overall standings with James Ellison and Stuart Easton also in close contention.

Brookes was soon piling the pressure on Byrne, trying to make a move into Paddock Hill Bend on the fourth lap, the Australian had the Milwaukee Yamaha sideways as his Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki rival defended hard.  Brookes then claimed the lead, but Byrne fought back instantly and reclaimed the position.

Bridewell then shuffled ahead of his team-mate and was trying to get ahead of Byrne. The Milwaukee Yamaha rider had a moment on the fifth lap when he tagged the back of Byrne at Druids as both riders managed to stay upright.

The moment gave Ellison the chance to move ahead of Bridewell as Byrne held onto the lead until the eighth lap as the 2014 champion had a moment on the exit of Surtees which meant the Lloyds British GBmoto Racing Kawasaki team hit the front of the pack. Byrne wasn't prepared to settle for second and he made a move at Hawthorns a lap later.

Byrne held the lead before the Nissan GT-R Safety Car was deployed for debris and then on the restart he was able to keep the opposition behind him before the race was red flagged with two laps remaining. Ellison held off Bridewell for third with Stuart Easton claiming fourth and the Riders Cup.

Brookes had to settle for fifth as Bridewell stole third place in the overall standings with Dan Linfoot finishing sixth. Jon Kirkham, John Hopkins, Peter Hickman and Chris Walker completed the top ten. 

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship, Brands Hatch, final race:

  1. Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki)
  2. James Ellison (Lloyds British GBmoto Racing Kawasaki) +0.102s
  3. Tommy Bridewell (Milwaukee Yamaha) +0.477s
  4. Stuart Easton (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) +0.545s
  5. Josh Brookes (Milwaukee Yamaha) +0.791s
  6. Dan Linfoot (Quattro Plant Kawasaki) +0.996s
  7. Jon Kirkham (Halsall Biker Gear Kawasaki) +2.036s
  8. John Hopkins (Tyco Suzuki) +2.713s
  9. Peter Hickman (RAF Reserves Honda) +3.225s
  10. Chris Walker (Lloyds British GBmoto Racing Kawasaki) +3.920s

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship final standings:

  1. Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) 682
  2. Ryuichi Kiyonari (Buildbase BMW) 620
  3. Tommy Bridewell (Milwaukee Yamaha) 587
  4. Josh Brookes (Milwaukee Yamaha) 584
  5. Dan Linfoot (Quattro Plant Kawasaki) 577
  6. Chris Walker (Lloyds British GBmoto Racing Kawasaki) 525