• MSV Trackdays
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive with MSV
Huge Oulton entry as Super Touring Trophy gathers momentum

Monday, May 19 2014

A stunning 29 cars are now set to take to the Oulton Park International circuit for the Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship-supporting Super Touring Trophy next month (7/8 June).

The list includes double BTCC champion John Cleland, who won the opening race of the sseason at Thruxton with his 1998 Vauxhall Vectra. He will be joined by fellow Super Touring hero Patrick Watts, who also claimed a victory at the Hampshire circuit. Meanwhile Nick Whale will also be reliving his Touring Car career in a BMW M3.

Whilst Jason Plato and Matt Neal will be continuing their rivalry on track in the BTCC, their cars from the 1990s will be disputing the Cheshire tarmac too. Series organiser Dave Jarman will be on board Matt's 1998 Nissan Primera, whilst Mark Jones has entered an ex-Plato Renault Laguna from the following season.

Other cars to look out for include two RML-built racers; the ex-David Leslie Primera from Nissan's title-winning 99 season, and a 95 Vauxhall Cavalier driven by James Thompson. The 2002 and 2004 champion's 99 Honda Accord will also be out, and there will be two Prodrive-built Ford Mondeos from the final year of the formula.

Look out for a rare Alfa 155, which dominated the BTCC 20 years ago, as well as several BMW 3 Series. The previous era of the championship is also represented by a Ford Sierra RS500, which should provide a spectacular sight around the Oulton Park circuit!

Super Touring Trophy Oulton Park entry list
1, Stewart Whyte, Honda Accord
2, Neil Smith, Alfa 156
3, James Dodd, Honda Accord
4, Graeme Dodd, Nissan Primera
6, Jim Whelan, BMW
7, Paul Smoth, BMW
8, Darren Fielding, BMW
9, Don Grice, BMW
10, Daniel Wheeler, Nissan Primera
11, Steve Dymoke, Alfa 156
12, Patrick Watts, Peugeot 406
14 Rick Wood, Honda Accord
15, Craig Davies, Ford RS500
17, Mark Smith, BMW M3
23, Derek Palmer, Nissan Primera
24, Alvin Powell, Ford Mondeo
25, Max Goff, Honda Accord
27, Kingsley Ingram, Mazda 323F
31 Roger Lavender, BMW
36, Keith Butcher, Nissan Primera
37, Simon Garrad, Renault Laguna
55, Paul Andrew, Alfa 155
60, Ford Escort, Mark Wright
66, Nick Whale, BMW M3
67, Tony Absolon, Vauxhall Cavalier
68, Richard Meins, Ford Mondeo
70, Dave Jarman, Nissan Primera
79, Mark Jones, Renault Laguna
98, John Cleland, Vauxhall Vectra

Tickets for the Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship, supported by thr Super Touring Trophy at Oulton Park are available from £26, with free admission for children aged 12 and under. For more information call 0843 453 9000 or click here.